Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

    This is a discussion on Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You could try clearing your browser cache: 1. Click Tools, then Internet Options, and then click the Delete Files button. ...

    1. #11
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      You could try clearing your browser cache:

      1. Click Tools, then Internet Options, and then click the Delete Files button.

      2. A Delete Files window will appear. Select the option to Delete all offline content, and then click OK.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      I've been told by my team leader that it's a firmware bug and if it continuously asks for the router login details and refuses to let you browse anything you need to call in for a fault. The router will need replacing if it's got the firmware problem.

    4. #13
      Drag-Den's Avatar
      Drag-Den is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      I've been told by my team leader that it's a firmware bug and if it continuously asks for the router login details and refuses to let you browse anything you need to call in for a fault. The router will need replacing if it's got the firmware problem.
      Ok well it sounds like it could be that. Not too happy as that means i'll be without internet until i get my new router which realistically wont be until after xmas and i'm getting a new laptop for xmas. Not a good start to my Sky Broadband experience.....

    5. #14
      groovycigarello's Avatar
      groovycigarello is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      Hi,
      we're experiencing exactly the same problems. For us it's very intermittent, but nonetheless, extremely irritating when it does occur.
      Did replacing the router fix this issue for you?

      Thanks in advance for any information.

    6. #15
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      hi Groovey,

      could you post your detailed stats (see second link in my sig and look for the mognuts utility)

      also could you confirm setup (wired or wireless and where your router is plugged in)

    7. #16
      groovycigarello's Avatar
      groovycigarello is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      Hi,
      thanks for the quick reply.
      We've actually got one of the Sagem routers, so have only been able to supply the "simple" stats.
      We're using a non-wireless link, connected to one of 3 phone sockets in the house (admittedly, I haven't tried the other sockets as yet.)

      Hopefully the info's of worth, and thanks again for any further help here .(our apologies if there's something fundamental/obvious that we've missed!)

      Cheers

      (It's actually behaving itself today, fortunately )

      Firmware Version 1.5Sky

      ADSL Port


      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023c.d20e
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 8096
      UpStream Connection Speed 384
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) Boogit
      Region Europe
      Current Channel 6
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name Boogit
      Last edited by richone54; 17-02-08 at 01:06 PM. Reason: removed some info that is not needed

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      To rule out internal wiring faults, you should find and plug into the TEST socket, which is behind the faceplate of the Master socket.

      Many find an immediate improvement by disconnecting the wire from Terminal 3. This is the ring wire and is not required when you use filters on all equipment connected to the phone line. You must have filters on all sockets that are being used, especially by digiboxes.

      You should update your profile which indicates you have the V1 router and are on Base(up to 2Mb), which you obviously are not.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      i have removed all other info that was not needed for these stats (you never know who mabey looking)

      couple of other things forst, could you change your profile to the correct router and also change your package (looks like you are on mid and not base)



      as for the connection, you are syncing at the correct speed up and down, if you are having problems with intermitent connection drops it would point to a line problem in your house.
      the most likely cause will be the ring wire (see cabling and face plate forum)

      the best way to eliminate your internal wiring would be to do a test from the "Test" socket (see first link in my sig to see what the socket looks like)

      hope i have not waffled on to much,

      let me know how you get on

    10. #19
      groovycigarello's Avatar
      groovycigarello is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      Thanks guys,
      yep, sorry about the incorrect profile info'. With a working connection, I was a little hasty to get registered and put the post-up.

      I'll read through the docs, check our setup and post the results back.

      Many thanks again. The help is very much appreciated.

    11. #20
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems Sky Broadband Connection/Authentication

      This is a known bu...'feature' on the Sagem routers where if your router is not connected to the Internet (No green @ symbol showing) then all page requests are forwarded to the router stsus page.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION