Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    my stats... good or bad?

    This is a discussion on my stats... good or bad? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You need to use Mognut’s Utility as found here: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ter-stats.html...

    1. #11
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      You need to use Mognut’s Utility as found here:

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      Your attenuation figures are exceptionally low. You are connected at the fastest speed Sky normally use for their Broadband Max connection, and with an extremely comfortable noise margin as well. Your line is exceptionally good.

      That speedtest signature is bogus though.

    4. #13
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      Me next me next.

      I'm with AOL...but how would these router stats fair for me if I moved to SKY MAX.

      Down / Up:

      Sync: 576kbps / 288kbps
      Line: 14 db / 3db.
      Noise: 31 db / 31 db.

      No I havent misread them. LOL

      Please I'm very curious.

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      so long as line is noise free - 16Mbps quite comfortably id expect!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Biodoid's Avatar
      Biodoid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRTRA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      I've just got connected to max today and wondered if these are ok? i used to get around 5.2mb on my last connection on adsl

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 13.0 db

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      its around the limit - is this in your master socket or an extention?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Biodoid's Avatar
      Biodoid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRTRA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      extension..but same results in the master..ring wires removed etc..plus there is not test socket behind the main faceplate

    9. #18
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: my stats... good or bad?

      I Am Not The Enemy..why would someone say to me that having a SNR of 31 db up and down is suspicious?

      To be honest...I used to switch off the router everynight. For the past week I've left it on for 5-6 days or so. and I switched it off yesterday...put it on..and re-checked AGAIN!

      And since I've found out how to check my stats (since I moved my AOL from old address two months ago) they never change. Since I moved my AOL from my old parental address....to my new address they have always been:

      Line Att': 14 db / 3 db (D/U)
      Noise: 31 db / 31db.

      I sit and watch my router change every 5secs on and off for an hour or more. Those stats have never risen or dropped.

      Is there ANY reason why my stats would NEVER fluctuate?

    10. #19
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      As for AOL giving me a 512kbps package (by the looks of the 576kbps downstream feedback on the router). I was told I was on the up to 2 megs Silver package.

      So with 14 db / 3db (D:U) Attenuation...I know that's good.

      But I'm getting nervous...about my Noise Margin on this ADSL AOL Silver.
      If it's 31 db down...and 31 db up....and (if them being the same ISNT suspicious)....is there a chance with the GREAT noise stats I have, that AOL have capped me for no apparent reason?

      I bought the original up to 1meg service Nov 06. it was upgraded onto "up to 2megs" package like all other AOL peeps later in 2007. After doing a home move I did get a letter says there was some reason they had to DOWNGRADE me. They didn't elaborate the reason. According to a rep with Madasafish it seems like AOL have got me on a 512kbps pacakge. That was by her just seeing my stats.

      I talked to AOL who deny I'm on the 512kbps service. They say I'm on the "up to 2megs". Quite frankly....I'm coming to SKY.

      Is there a reason why I would be getting 31 db / 31 db and low speeds for any other reason than capping? Or do I have a line problem that the noise margin doesn't show up.

    11. #20
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my stats... good or bad?

      After reading other threads I've something to add. I'm in a set of 4 apartments. We have a fire alarm system...with a main box downstairs. The alarms them selves are on at all times (without batteries)....and when the power goes out....the hall emergency lights outside our apartment come on.

      When the power comes on, the main alarm box in the foyer that loudly goes off resets itself. Does an alarm system like this prove to be a reason why I have great line attenuation high noise margin but 576 kbps down speeds / 288 up?

      Is the alarm system affecting my phone line?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION