Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

    This is a discussion on My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I have problems with BT /Sky with regarding my line, and wondered whether anyone could offer some advise ...

    1. #1
      envy's Avatar
      envy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      Hi All,

      I have problems with BT/Sky with regarding my line, and wondered whether anyone could offer some advise on it?

      I moved into my flat (new build) last week, and had BT install a new telephone line on Monday. It has been 8 days since the installation was done via the exchange - no engineer was called out.

      The problem stems with SKY BroadBand. I have taken up SKY+ and I was going to take up Broadband too, however I called them yesterday and it turns out that the line is active (hurray!), BUT its apparently been setup on the wrong postcode??

      My line is fine (no fault), but when Sky do the postcode & Number search they come up with *** 8NB, when it should be ** 8DD.

      They simply said speak to BT, who will correct your postcode and we can take your order then.

      Spoke immediately to BT and they said they had no idea what SKY was on about, the postcode was shown as 8DD, and speak to SKY again.

      Spoke to SKY, told them what BT said and they were adament that BT were at fault, and nothing they could do.

      Spoke to BT and again they said its correct, they only use one system and its SKYs fault.

      Big companies blaming each other is not helping. I have read a few sites that mention that BT sometimes enter a different postcode for the exchange??

      Can anyone shed any light on this? Has this happened to anyone else? What shall I do?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      well, Sky's ordering system is based on BTs information so something at BTs end is wrong...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      I know this may not solve your problem but I have always found
      postcodes and zip codes fascinating.
      So here is a geeky reply.

      Your postcode is determined by Royal Mail. Not BT or Sky.
      This site:
      www.royalmail.com
      will show the correct postcode.
      Just put in the address and it gives you the postcode.
      Or you can do the reverse. Put in a postcode for an address.
      I think the second part of the postcode is used for "inward sorting"
      and can apply to about 15 consumer houses.
      That's why you also need a house number on an address.
      (Businesses have a unique postcode.)
      The first part determines the "outward sort" - town and area.

      I use the site often to find addresses and postcodes
      especially at Christmas. You stand a better chance of your
      card being delivered if it has a correct postcode, because
      computer letter sorting machines can recognise it.
      Or so they say.
      Last edited by murdock; 18-12-07 at 12:52 PM. Reason: link added

    5. #4
      envy's Avatar
      envy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      Thanks for your reply.

      Is there a particular system they use to find details?

      I am really lost, as BT keep saying its correct, and i try and argue it and get nowhere.

      Could i just amend my postcode to what sky is saying, the only problem is getting my post though!

      I have no idea

    6. #5
      envy's Avatar
      envy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      To add more fire to this subject, the postcode BT have input, is down the road. A good 10 minute walk, but down the road indeed.

      If i check Royal Mails website, and it shows as *** 8DD - not 8NB. So 8DD is the correct postal code.

      I can only assume BT have either used an old postcode the property was registered whilst being built, or data input error.

      Hmmm, any more ideas? BT still adament its 8DD

    7. #6
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      Tell them Royal Mail is right about postcodes.
      And BT is right about telephone numbers.
      Every organisation in the country uses the Royal Mail postcodes.


      If I give SatNav what BT say I might drive off a cliff.
      But thats another story.

    8. #7
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      More seriously, your suggestion of incorrect data input is probably correct.
      Mistakes could be made by anyone.
      Your post should get to you if you don't use a postcode or have the
      wrong one. You just give Royal Mail a good excuse if they lose it.
      Courier companies like TNT also deliver by postcode. LOL.
      (Some postmen are cleverer than computers when it comes to addresses.)

      I would phone the Royal Mail postcode helpline.
      Just to be sure their site is correct.
      Last edited by murdock; 18-12-07 at 04:07 PM. Reason: BT insult removed by author.

    9. #8
      envy's Avatar
      envy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01922
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      Thanks for your help so far.

      So tonight I guess I should ring BT and try and push them again regarding Postcode. Strange thing is, is that I have received a bill with the correct postcode. Seems my Billing is correct, maybe a system behind it is'nt.

      If they donít budge, im going to have change my postcode across, and move it back after. That should get BB setup at least, even though itís a real pain!

      If not, I guess its off to another provider

    10. #9
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      Envy, Just re-read your posts.
      I may have been harsh on BT.
      If Royal Mail, who determine postcodes, give the
      second part of the postcode as 8DD.
      And BT say the postcode is 8DD.
      Then where are Sky getting 8NB from?
      Have you told Sky that Royal Mail confirm the
      postcode is 8DD.

    11. #10
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My BT line is not registered to right postcode, say SKY?

      The check is done against BT's tags on the line system. For reference, this is a web hosted application located at BT.COM and nothing to do with Sky. Its also not the postcode BT Retail hold for you, but the postcode BT Wholesale hold for you.

      Sky may raise a tags on the line escalation for you to find out whats going on but I'm not sure if that would help.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION