Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky Connect Speed Issues

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect Speed Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Everyone, I've had an eye on the forums for a while and thought it was time i signed up ...

    1. #1
      gamesaregood's Avatar
      gamesaregood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Foxhall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Connect Speed Issues

      Hello Everyone,

      I've had an eye on the forums for a while and thought it was time i signed up .... and shared my problems

      I was migrated Over to Sky Connect on Wed the 5th of Dec and Sky finally decided to send my router out and it arrives Tues 11th so been without internet for a week, when speaking to Sky they informed me that with Sky Connect they don't send out the router until the migrations happened and this could take upto 7 days! So your going to be without internet, the support guy whom i spoke to also ageed its stupid... after that they send me one of the Old White Netgears

      All this and I'm only on Connect because they have no LLU room in my exchange So I'm waiting for them to migrate me so I can Max it up ... I'm receiving Sky Connect at 5 a month until this happens though!

      Anyway the routers now arrived and I'm having some speed issues and my noise Margins seems very high....

      A few details working saying...

      I'm about 3.26km from the Exchange (As that slow Crow Flies!) According to Samknows....

      I was currently syncing around 2900mbps with my Previous ISP Demon... which meant I was on a 2.5MB Profile (Just).... It flexed and I was sometimes pushed down to 2MB...

      Ok so when i first connected to Sky i was syncing around 2500kbps which is not too bad i guess.. but I'm getting a massive 12db noise margin! My understanding is that this should be around 6db...

      So I've decided to change all three of my filters to the new sky ones and reboot the router to see it it made any differance, checked the router settings after the filter change and it seemed to drop 2db after changing each one! Great I thought.. Rebooted and it synced even lower at 2100kbps and the noise margin went back to 12db

      Line Attention has also increased from 48 (Demon) to 51 - 52 (sky)

      Here are the Line Stats from the Router:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2112 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.8 21.0
      Attn(dB): 51.0 29.0
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 2368 1064
      Rate (Kbps): 2112 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 67(0) 15
      R: 12 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 8 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 67 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 2.1764 9.0000
      L: 544 128
      D: 8 2
      Counters
      SF: 69514 69512
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 2363510 590852
      RSCorr: 10 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5889692 0
      Data Cells: 819010 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 15 0
      Total time = 20 min 1 sec

      I also don't have a Test Socket in my Master Its the Old Style one, is it possible to get BT to change this or am I better just getting a Nation one?

      P.S I understand the Sky Connect it Throttled on P2P, does anyone have any details on this? I do wish Sky Had some LLU space in my Exchange!

      Sorry for all the woffle

      Thanks to anyone with any surgestions...

      Michael


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Speed Issues

      thats just how IP Profling works - I sync at 3Mbps (ish) with an SNR of never less than 15 but it won't retrain - and this is using a filtered faceplate....

      i think BTs service keeps a high SNR to make sure line stays stable but i could be wrong...

      and regarding the socket - you have to get BT to change it for a new NTE-5 socket to be able to use an ADSLNation faceplate...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      gamesaregood's Avatar
      gamesaregood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Foxhall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Speed Issues

      Hello Mate,

      Thats a shame, Do my speeds sound right for the Attention & Line Noise then?

      Is there any charge for BT to replace the faceplate?

      Do you think it will improve when I'm migrated Over to LLU?

      Thanks,

      Michael

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Speed Issues

      they look very similar to mine (im on a 2500 IP Profile, sync around 3Mbps with SNR 15/Att. 51)

      i think charge is around 150-odd (not 100% sure though)

      should improve once on LLU as Sky have a lot more control over the line...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      gamesaregood's Avatar
      gamesaregood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Foxhall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Speed Issues

      Hello,

      Sorry to bring this back up but I've been wondering if its possible to overide the target SNR on the sky DG834GT as this seems to be possible with the standard one?

      DG834GT - How to Overide Target SNR on the DSLAM

      This setting is not saved after a reboot.

      ~ Enable debug via the web interface
      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

      ~ Then telnet the router
      or click --> 192.168.0.1

      ~ when logged in type the following command
      /usr/sbin/adslctl configure --snr N

      where N = (target SNR * 16)

      Does anyone know if this would allow me to set my SNR to 6 rather than the 12 sky connect seems to be targeting?

      Thanks,

      Michael

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Speed Issues

      You can use Mognuts Utility to do this, but AFAIK it can only be used to raise the NM, not reduce it.

      If your 10 day training period is up, it may be worthwhile calling Sky and telling them you have a low speed and are sure you can get more as you had it with your previous ISP.

      To help, you can try a speed test at the BT Tester you will need to enter your phone number and username from the router. It is busy, so you may get a few failures before you get through. It would do no harm to paste the result here. This should help when you contact Sky, but unfortunately very few, if any, of the Sky TS is trained in helping Connect users as a result have no idea how to interpret the results.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION