Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Just got Sky

    This is a discussion on Just got Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; One more question. If I was to upgrade to "Max" could I get better speeds than 7mbps?...

    1. #11
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      One more question. If I was to upgrade to "Max" could I get better speeds than 7mbps?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      What are your stats when you are plugged into the TEST socket?

      I would strongly recommend you get an ADSL Nation Faceplate , Given the position of your Master socket it is the best investment you can make. You can then forget about having filters on all your extension sockets, which will be completely isolated from your ADSL.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Just got Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      Definitely! (Well there is a pre-filtered replacement faceplate that can be used, but letís not go there yet!)

      Have a look at some of the posts HERE especially the stickies

      As was said, lets not go there yet, but just in case it is an option you wish to explore, I bought mine from Clarity and it has helped my line.

      Just keep it as a reference.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    5. #14
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by LooieENG View Post
      One more question. If I was to upgrade to "Max" could I get better speeds than 7mbps?
      With a Line Attenuation of 26 you should get much better than 7mbps, post your line stats as suggested by Isitme and some of the very knowledgeable people on here will be able to advise you better.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      I am sorry to disagree, any master socket with extensions fitted to it can be a source of interference. The best way to get rid of that interference is to use an ADSL face plate. It can do no harm whatsoever and a whole heap of good. So I say 'go there' asap

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      Right, I plugged all the phones into those splitter things, and then just put my router into the main socket and it's downstream connection speed is "8096"

      Speedtest


      Thanks for the help everyone

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      ^^^^^^^^
      You may find that even if you are connecting at a higher speed, you will get drop outs due to errors caused by your internal wiring. Believe me, if you have extensions connected to your faceplate, an ADSL faceplate is the way to go. It has been proved innumerable times on this forum alone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      Okay, I'll look into it. Thanks.

      Btw, I did an ADSL2+ linespeed test with my line attenuation, and it said 14-16mbps. Does this mean it's worth upgrading to Max?

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      We are still waiting on your stats from the Test socket Then maybe someone will be able to give you a definitive answer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky

      You could think about MAX if you really feel you need the extra speed, but now you have sorted out your filters I would give it awhile to ensure your line is stable. Isitme is quite correct the ADSL Nation Faceplate is the best and neatest way to go, especially if you do go for MAX.
      Also see THIS THREAD if you want to do something about those pings.

      Good Luck

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION