Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

    This is a discussion on Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm thinking of upgrading from mid to max, I don't want to open up a can of worms and I'm ...

    1. #1
      garyp's Avatar
      garyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      I'm thinking of upgrading from mid to max, I don't want to open up a can of worms and I'm wondering whether there is anything I have to do (i.e. with setting up the router) when the line is upgraded or any potential pitfalls I should be aware of? Also is there any way to upgrade on sky's website or do I have to ring them?
      Last edited by garyp; 12-12-07 at 01:09 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      I would assume that you have checked your stats to make sure that your line can cope with the higher speeds , if so then i believe that a simple phone call should suffice.

    4. #3
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      Yep just call up, speak to customer services and they can upgrade you (regrade the broadband) instantaneously over the phone.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

    5. #4
      garyp's Avatar
      garyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      Thanks - I've just read the stats tutorial and these are what's showing at the moment (8am). I will check again this evening to see how much difference there is then. Obviously these are relating to my mid package as it stands at the moment!

      Attenuation 12.0, 10.0
      Noise Margin 17.5db, 14.0db

      Does that sound ok for an upgrade to max? I've not managed to grasp how much the noise margin is likely to drop by after the line speed is upgraded.

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      Well, with those very, very low attenuation figures, I'd be extremely surprised if you didn't get the maximum speed (15323 kbit/sec), still with a very comfortable noise margin.

    7. #6
      garyp's Avatar
      garyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading mid to max any potential pitfalls?

      It's probably because I live virtually next door to the exchange. It was the noise figures I was feeling a bit unsure about so good to know I've got a decent enough margin there.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION