Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky MAX throttling connection!

    This is a discussion on Sky MAX throttling connection! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I joined sky broadband max from Orange last week as I could get 16 meg line syncing at 13.5meg so ...

    1. #1
      matt_turbo_2000's Avatar
      matt_turbo_2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky MAX throttling connection!

      I joined sky broadband max from Orange last week as I could get 16 meg line syncing at 13.5meg so I am happy with that only annoying thing is they are throttling P2P!

      I can only get 30KB's I have tried different clients encrypting the data but still the same. Anyone else experiencing the same? I am not a heavy useage person so cant understand why they have done this from the outset of me joining sky!

      Any suggestions ways of getting round this?

      Many Thanks
      Mathew.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      Hi welcome to the forum. Sky do not throttle p2p on any of their packages with the exception of connect which is a rebranded bt product

    4. #3
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      have you tried allowing a llowing an exception in your firewall and router

    5. #4
      matt_turbo_2000's Avatar
      matt_turbo_2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      Hi,

      Thanks for the welcome, yes I have setup my firewall and logged onto the router to setup the port but torrents are still flatlining at 30kb's I would say there is def some traffic shaping going on here!

      I am running on the Sky/Easynet LLU on MAX package. Any suggestion of things I can check?

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      silly question i know, but have you tried to download a torrent with many seeds

    7. #6
      matt_turbo_2000's Avatar
      matt_turbo_2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      Yes I tried that I picked a random torrent with loads of seeds one of the top torrents. if I download 1 torrent or 5 at a time the total KB's is always 30!

      I have checked the settings in utorrent download speed is set to unlimited I havent set a max value.

      Strange that you all say MAX dont traffic shape perhaps they are just starting to now!

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      If they did throttle we would be the first to know, hardly any complaints about shaping at all, if any. It is normally a config error with the user, no offence intended.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      I dont think they have, i would say that it would be common knowledge by now. Check out how to port forward in our tools and tutorials section to ensure you have it set up correctly

    10. #9
      matt_turbo_2000's Avatar
      matt_turbo_2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      I will double check when I get home I hope it's the case I have missed something.

      Friend of mine that is a Cicso engineer heard that easynet/sky had started using ellacoya switches to trafic shape P2P I hope he is just talking out his a*se lol.

    11. #10
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Sky MAX throttling connection!

      Quote Originally Posted by matt_turbo_2000 View Post
      Friend of mine that is a Cicso engineer heard that easynet/sky had started using ellacoya switches to trafic shape P2P I hope he is just talking out his a*se lol.
      If this is the case, then there are a couple of us here, i know of, that have been through it already when ellacoyas were first brought into the ISP ring. Aka Plusnet...
      From what I remember they are a complete pain in the back side to configure and done incorrectly can cause a massive side effect which would be highly noticable.

      Well im hoping they arent shaping, I have yet to be activated and would like to make use of the connection when I do
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION