Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 36 of 36

    Help Please

    This is a discussion on Help Please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Samknows - MROLD exchange this is my exchange does it show skyBB being able ? EDIT shows LLU capablility SkyUser ...

    1. #31
      Georgieboy91's Avatar
      Georgieboy91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      Samknows - MROLD exchange this is my exchange does it show skyBB being able ?

      EDIT shows LLU capablility






      SkyUser - Exchange Checker
      Exchange Information

      * Name: Oldham
      * Code: MROLD
      * Post Code: OL11BA
      * Location: CHAUCER STREET, LANCASHIRE

      Your Available Services

      * You can receive Sky / Easynet LLU
      Last edited by Georgieboy91; 10-12-07 at 10:03 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      It may do but it doesn't tell you if there is any spare capacity on the exchange for customers to be put onto the Sky BB equipment.

    4. #33
      Georgieboy91's Avatar
      Georgieboy91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      back to the original issue though what is causing bad download speeds even though it says i know have 3500kbps could it be my noise of 5db

    5. #34
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      Connect works entirely different from Sky's LLU. There is a 10 day training period which establishes a stable speed for your line. After the training period, if your speed drops for any time at all, your profile will be adjusted down until the line stabilizes. After your line has maintained a higher speed for some hours(it used to be 3 days) it will adjust upwards. This is roughly how it works, no doubt someone will give a more technical explanation.

      My advice for the time being, would be to plug in to the Test socket and just leave it to settle for a couple of days, you may find that your speed goes back up. You should be able to use the speedtest linked above, to find out what your profile is a present.

      Unfortunately, Sky do not seem to train their support to know how to respond to issues with Connect, maybe someday they will wake up and realize that it is different from their main product and requires different treatment.

      Further advice will no doubt be forthcoming.

      EDIT - You will find more info in this thread- A Few Issues.
      Last edited by Isitme; 10-12-07 at 10:31 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #35
      Carl2T's Avatar
      Carl2T is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alleyways on Buckfast
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      A home, in the middle of the street
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      Paul, sky do not train their staff, whom are you speaking of, t1?

      I briefly read over the notes there.. because you're getting over 2 in most situations I only hope you are set to max.
      A day without laughter is a day wasted.

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help Please

      ^^^^^^^^^^^^
      Don't quite know what you mean by this reply to a post that is over 9 months old. Too much Buckfast maybe

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION