Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 41

    Question?!?

    This is a discussion on Question?!? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Virgin Media (cable) is a whole service - cable bb /tv.....its not something you buy to add to what you've ...

    1. #31
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      Virgin Media (cable) is a whole service - cable bb/tv.....its not something you buy to add to what you've got

      Virgin Broadband

      you could do with actually reading up and bb technology and the pros/cons of each as you sound as though you're getting confused - no offence!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      any other idea?so i need to subscribe again? so whats the point of getting an sky connection?
      errm im juz a kid actually so i cant juz buy or subscribe anythin...
      ________
      HOW TO ROLL A BLUNT
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 04:41 PM.

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      hence me saying prob best read up about broadband as there's a large difference between cable and and adsl....in your case, adsl is bad as the longer then line, the slower the speed.....cable would be beneficial as it doesnt lose (as much) speed as it's fibre cable rather than copper phone lines
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      ADSL is dat the microfilter thing? Lol...so the longer cable i used is dah slower my speed is??:O
      ________
      GRIEF OR LOSS FORUMS
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 04:41 PM.

    6. #35
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      Yes the longer the telephone lead the slower the speed.
      ADSL = Asynchronous Digital Subscriber Line.

      The filter thing separates the Telephone signal from the ADSL signal.


    7. #36
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      weh! why is dat? why is the longer cable i used the slower my speed is...:-s dnt get it...

      if thats the other problem..so i need to get a new cable that long enough to reach my modem/router to my PC...grr i need to measure how far my room to my phone socket..:-s

      and any other idea??

      thnx for replying to my post...
      ________
      CHEAPEST VAPORIZER
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 04:42 PM.

    8. #37
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      To get the best performance use the telephone lead that came with the router and plug it into the BT master socket.
      Use an Ethernet cable long enough to reach you PC, the length of the Ethernet cable will have no effect on the speed of your connection.


    9. #38
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      telephone lead
      errm sorry for being stupid but what's that mean telephone lead?

      the only wires are plug on my BT socket is the microfilter then modem/router and my telephone...>.<
      ________
      Video reviews
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 04:43 PM.

    10. #39
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      The grey telephone cable that came with the router should be kept as short as possible to the router. Any additional length on this cable can cause a slow down. The ethernet lead (probably yellow if you are using the Sky supplied one) can be up to 100 meters in length before you see any degredation.
      With ADSL you are relying on old technology (copper telephone cables) to carry data, these cables are ok in short lengths but as with all copper cables you will see loss of power across longer lengths, the longer the cable the worst the loss is. If you live a long way from your exchange then ADSL was never going to be the better option.

    11. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Question?!?

      weh! why is dat? why is the longer cable i used the slower my speed is...:-s dnt get it...
      I think the original answer to this referred to your telephone line, not your internal cables.

      Just to sum up for you -
      1. Long telephone line from the house to exchange, like yours = Bad you will not get a high speed connection.
      2. Long low quality telephone extension between the Master socket and router = Very bad, you will make any speed you have even lower.
      3. Long RJ11 cable(from telephone socket to router), over 10 Ms = Fairly Bad, you will reduce speed even further.
      4. Short RJ11 cable, grey, as supplied = Good, you speed will be much the same.
      5. Long RJ45 cable, from router to PC = Good, your speed will not be effected, unless it is over 100Mts long, which is unlikely, unless you stay in Buck Palace.

      Finally, if you want the fastest connection possible with the length of your line from the telephone exchange, do as has been suggested. Measure from the router when it is plugged in to your Master socket to your PC. Write the distance down, then go to PC World and ask the assistant there for a cable with RJ45 plugs at both ends to suit the distance you have measured. Remember when you measure, to measure the route the cable will take, not in a straight line. I don't think your parents would be too happy if the cable ran across their lobby, lounge and staircase.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION