Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Unable to Browse

    This is a discussion on Unable to Browse within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am having a nightmare I received Sky Broadband a few weeks ago, it worked for the first day ...

    1. #1
      PeteSky's Avatar
      PeteSky Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Unable to Browse

      Hi,
      I am having a nightmare I received Sky Broadband a few weeks ago, it worked for the first day but since then I have had problems and I am pulling my hair out.

      Router has all the correct lights showing, PC is showing that I am connected
      but I am unable to browse as it is displaying 'Page cannot displayed' error message!!!

      I have spoken to Sky on 6 occassions and have done all the usual steps but still no joy. On the last attempt they stated it was my computer's network card so I replaced this, still no joy.

      I have borrowed a few laptops since then and am encountering the same problem. Although on the Network it is displaying the 'Aquiring Network Address' rather than actually saying connected.

      Any ideas as it was strange why it worked to begin with!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Try rebooting it. Unplug the power cable, leave for 20 secs, then plug back in, leave for a minute and try again

      RE: On the last attempt they stated it was my computer's network card so I replaced this, still no joy.

      I Just love the way Sky seem to be blaming everything else but their hardware and system. Problem is stuff like this actually costs you money.
      Last edited by dingdong; 16-09-06 at 10:36 AM.

    4. #3
      Unregistered ex bt's Avatar
      Unregistered ex bt Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Pete on laptop when it says aquiring network address have you traied repairing the connection?

      My BB is running at twicw the speed of dial up! keeps dropping and keeps changing ip address!!

      I had the aquiring network address on laptop so i repaired the connection on the desktop then the pc, rebooted both and it connected.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Pete

      Please register so your comments and posts can be followed thanks

      That is a strange problem are you able to log into the admin page of the router ? http://192.168.0.1 default login details unless you have changed them are admin/sky

      If you are able to login the try changing the Mode in Wireless Settings from G & b to Auto 108 could help sort out the connection problems with the laptops.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      PeteSky's Avatar
      PeteSky Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Unable to Browse

      Hi,
      Thanks for the rapid responses I have tried and also have just retried as well still no joy.

      Wheelie sorry for being stupid but I cannot find where to change my wireless settings to 108 Auto on the laptop??

      I cannot access the http://192.168.0.1 admin page.

      Could it be a faulty router??

      Thanks again for your help...I will register now.

    7. #6
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The way I see it is if you have tried other laptops with your wireless card and still can't get into the router it can only be a router fault. can you access the router when it is hard wired (Ethernet) to the router?.
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

    8. #7
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      PeteSky: Have you changed any of your router settings?

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Wheelie sorry for being stupid but I cannot find where to change my wireless settings to 108 Auto on the laptop??
      Its not stupid but you need to log into the router from your PC not the laptops, I should have said that in the first place.

      Once in the admin page of the router you will see all the settings links down the left side the very top one is Wireless Settings.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I cannot access the http://192.168.0.1 admin page.

      Could it be a faulty router??
      Quote Originally Posted by Ratti3 View Post
      PeteSky: Have you changed any of your router settings?
      If he cant get into the router how could he change the settings. Unless someone else accessed the router the default login is well known.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 16-09-06 at 11:49 AM. Reason: Fixed quote
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

    11. #10
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Its not stupid but you need to log into the router from your PC not the laptops, I should have said that in the first place.
      Wheelie Why can't you log in from the laptop?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 16-09-06 at 11:50 AM. Reason: Fixed quote
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION