Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Does the ip address change?

    This is a discussion on Does the ip address change? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hiya guys I have noticed in that My ip address changes nearly everyday? is this correct ? or have i ...

    1. #1
      herohonda777's Avatar
      herohonda777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does the ip address change?

      Hiya guys I have noticed in that My ip address changes nearly everyday?

      is this correct ?

      or have i missed something totally

      the reason I am stating this is because I use Utorrent and i have port forwarding never had a problem but now I got red connection.
      I thought it maybe because of my ip address changing


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      ip should only change if you reboot the router, port forwarding should also not be affected by this.

      do you swiitch your router off at night?

    4. #3
      herohonda777's Avatar
      herohonda777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      yes I do turn it off at night.

      I have just seen that the ip does change.

      I have got a clear connection now just needed to update utorrent.

      thank you for your help, I was getting worried about the change of the ip address.

    5. #4
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      no need to worry, hope your minds been put to rest now lol.

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      If you loose your broadband connection goes down your IP address will change as well.

      Routers are designed to be left on so there isn't really any need to turn it off.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,085
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      Quote Originally Posted by herohonda777 View Post
      I have got a clear connection now just needed to update utorrent.
      Why? Utorrent doesn't care what your external IP is

    8. #7
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      I wonder, Does anyone know what the IP range is that Sky use on their MAX products? I need to update the settings on my server if I do go ahead with everything else I am locked out, but I dont want to leave it open to the entire online nation.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      Does THIS help?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      It does yes thank you

      Although having had the 1 IP I could have searched for more, but im simply too lazy.

      I just wonder though....

      % Information related to '90.192.0.0/11AS4589'
      route: 90.192.0.0/11
      descr: BSkyB Broadband

      does it indeed start at 90.200 or 90.192

      but then its not unheard of for ISP's to use a specific range for a specific package. For example 90.200.0.1 - 90.201.0.0 for Max products and so forth, but I see this as unlikely for sky.

      But again thank you.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Does the ip address change?

      Yes you are CORRECT it does start at '192'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION