Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 46

    How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

    This is a discussion on How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet improved pings, faster page loading times, and no hamster powered DNS hardware!...

    1. #1
      Attermire's Avatar
      Attermire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

      improved pings, faster page loading times, and no hamster powered DNS hardware!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      I never had a problem with Sky's servers but have been using OpenDNS for quite a while now anyway.

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by Attermire View Post
      improved pings
      Eh? Are you sure? How does that work then?

    5. #4
      SimpleRules's Avatar
      SimpleRules is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      176
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Had been using OpenDNS for a while, formated my PC and never got round to setting it back up on here although my laptop uses it ... must say Sky's DNS seem perfectly adequate, never really noticed a difference apart from when I spelt a domain wrong.

    6. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Do you have to sign up to them or can you just use the ip addresses shown on their web page?

    7. #6
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Do you have to sign up to them or can you just use the ip addresses shown on their web page?
      You can use the ones on the site without signing up.

      Works fine for me as i swapped over last night.

    8. #7
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Do you have to sign up to them or can you just use the ip addresses shown on their web page?
      Just use the IP address, there are guides on there explaining how to use them.

    9. #8
      Golf18's Avatar
      Golf18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Radcliffe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Radcliffe, Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Hi,
      will this help with problems with rapidshare?
      do you set it up on router or PC?

    10. #9
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Using opendns servers has increased my surfing speed noticeably!


      You must alter server settings both in router and in properties in your ethernet adapter.

    11. #10
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Using opendns servers has increased my surfing speed noticeably!


      You must alter server settings both in router and in properties in your ethernet adapter.
      Why do you have to alter it in both router and PC? If you hard code the DNS servers on your computers adapter this then overides the router as it doesnt look for something to tell it what DNS servers to use.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION