Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 46 of 46

    How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

    This is a discussion on How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK, will give it a go....

    1. #41
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      OK, will give it a go.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Still does not work for me even after a reboot!

      Reinserting them makes it good again!


      dog-man

    4. #43
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Not wishing to sound as though im pedantic or anything else, but when you remove the OpenDNS addresses you are selecting the "Obtain DNS Server address automatically" option aren't you ?

      This should happen by default anyhow but you never know...

      Again just double checking.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    5. #44
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Cannot select that option as each computer in my home is assigned it's own unique ip.

      I tried just removing the servers leaving that area blank as suggested by someone earlier in this thread.

      It all works fine for me anyway without being able to remove them, it was merely an experiment.

      With opendns servers both in my router and on my pc, it is truly noticeably faster (web surfing) than easynet's servers.


      dog-man

    6. #45
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Ah, if you're assigning an IP address to the PC manually, as you describe, you'll have to enter the address of the router as the DNS address. This is 192.168.0.1 (unless you've changed the router's IP address).

    7. #46
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Yes, that works!

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION