Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 46

    How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

    This is a discussion on How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No, you shouldn't have to If you want to test if it is working try mistyping an address - Giraffe ...

    1. #31
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      No, you shouldn't have to

      If you want to test if it is working try mistyping an address - Giraffe Dropcatcher system for example - if you are running with opendns it will resolve correctly to the google site.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:



    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      kpax88's Avatar
      kpax88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      No... Once in thats that

    4. #33
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Well it is doing it but i dont see much difference

    5. #34
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by the_sky_goat View Post
      No, you shouldn't have to

      If you want to test if it is working try mistyping an address - Giraffe Dropcatcher system for example - if you are running with opendns it will resolve correctly to the google site.

      To check its working click here - OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

      You should see the message below at the top of the page -

      You're using OpenDNS. Thanks! You are now navigating the Internet safer, faster, smarter and more reliably than ever before.

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      if you are running with opendns it will resolve correctly to the google site
      .

      If your not you will get something like
      Firefox can't find the server at Giraffe Dropcatcher system



      I don't really know if it is required, but I always reboot after making changes to the LAN Properties. I run my Vista machine on Sky's servers and my XP and 2000 ones on OpenDNS, tbh I don't notice any difference. I have never taken the trouble to try and change it in the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      maxping's Avatar
      maxping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cumbria - U.K
      Posts
      401
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by VEG View Post
      Well it is doing it but i dont see much difference

      I have noticed some sites that used to be a bit sticky like EBay and this one load a lot faster using Open DNS.


      Can someone with the new Sky router confirm you can set open DNS in the router settings and use them instead of Skys?
      Last edited by maxping; 09-12-07 at 09:45 PM.

    8. #37
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by maxping View Post
      To check its working click here - OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

      You should see the message below at the top of the page -
      I preferred my way! :-)
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    9. #38
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      Quote Originally Posted by maxping View Post

      I have noticed some sites that used to be a bit sticky like EBay and this one load a lot faster using Open DNS.


      Can someone with the new Sky router confirm you can set open DNS in the router settings and use them instead of Skys?
      I have Open Dns in my network card properties, not the Sagem router, as you cannot change the router's.

      Tom has just done some tutorials here for setting up DNS SkyUser - The Unofficial Help and Support Forum for everything Sky! - Tutorials

      As regards this site loading quicker, it maybe because we have just changed servers




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #39
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,592
      Thanks
      85
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      I just tried removing the opendns servers from my PC, therefore leaving them in my router only.

      I got loads of "Internet Explorer cannot display this webpage" error messages.

      Very few sites would actually open for me, so I have reinstated them and all is fine again!

    11. #40
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: How to bypass Sky's awful DNS servers!

      If you remove the OpenDNS addresses, you have to run 'ipconfig /renew' or reboot the PC to get it to pick up the DNS settings from the router (i.e., Sky's DNS addresses).

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION