Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    firewall help!

    This is a discussion on firewall help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ive am using windows xp (fiewall) ive been told it no good??? so i downloaded zone alarm...then the problems started..its ...

    1. #1
      kiko's Avatar
      kiko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      firewall help!

      ive am using windows xp (fiewall) ive been told it no good??? so i downloaded zone alarm...then the problems started..its like going back to dial-up.......nightmare!!
      if i bought anti-virus softwere like McAfee os simmular, has that got a good firewall, also im using AVG anti-virus, (free edition) Need help..thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      Hi, i have windows xp firewall and have no problems at all with my connection. Have you tried it for a period of time? You could install McAfee from the sky start up cd but it does take up a lot of memory space and as a consequence can make your computer sluggish

    4. #3
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      What do you mean by "its like going back to dial-up"? Do you mean it's slowed your internet connection?. PC-Tools do a free firewall and it seems quite "lightweight". You can download it Here.
      Personally I would keep away from McAfee.

    5. #4
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      When you began running Zone Alarm, did you turn off the XP firewall? Two together can cause problems such that one will cancel the other out. XP is OK as a bare minimum but it doesn't let you control what goes OUT from your machine. A lot of folk find Comodo acceptable, Comodo™ Free Firewall Software Download
      You do know you can switch the alerts off in Zone Alarm though, don't you? I wouldn't touch Mccrapee with a very long barge pole.....

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      ZA is a well recommended firewall, but like all good ones, it takes some time to set up properly. The main thing to note is that if you are using ZA you must turn off the Windows firewall, if you don't, it can lead to conflicts which will slow your PC down.

      Many run without a software firewall, preferring to depend on the router firewall. This does an excellent job keeping nasties out of your PC but if a trojan, eg, should get in, it will not stop it sending your details to Timbuktu, or where ever it's master resides. This is the main function of a software firewall, when used in conjunction with a router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      The Netgear router contains a firewall, a pretty good one. As long as its enabled then you should be pretty safe without a personal one as well.
      The Netgear can also block outbound ports, but you have to manually open the ones needed to allow surfing etc.

    8. #7
      kiko's Avatar
      kiko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: firewall help!

      Thanks Guys!! Excellent Advice...again....THANKS...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION