Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Unstable connection

    This is a discussion on Unstable connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been on the Sky Max package for just over 6 months with the white netgear router. Using the ...

    1. #1
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unstable connection

      I have been on the Sky Max package for just over 6 months with the white netgear router. Using the exchange checker and line attenuation to check what my speed should be I should get 10-12Mb but i have never got more than 8Mb and its usually 4-7Mb. While that isnt something im happy about I can live with it since it usually goes fast enough for what I want. For the last couple of days however I have been getting very slow speeds for loading web pages and on xbox live and the connection has been dropping quite a lot with web pages failing to load completely and ive been getting disconnected from xbox live. I normally have uPnP off but sometimes turn it on so that I can get an open NAT for xbox live. When its on the connection is unstable and drops a lot though. I have read that this is a known issue with the router so I am probably going to get a new one. Anyway im posting because of the connection being so unstable now even with uPnP turned off to see if there is anything I can do? Will getting a better router fix this? Also is there anyway to make the overall speed faster? I have got my stats from the router and there are some things that dont look too good but im sure other people can judge that better than me:

      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6432 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			G.DMT
      Channel:		Interleave
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	5.4		13.0
      Attn(dB):	36.0		22.0
      Pwr(dBm):	19.8		10.8
      Max(Kbps):	7008		1120
      Rate (Kbps):	6432		768
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		202(0)		25
      R:		16		16
      S:		1		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		1		1
      B:		202		25
      M:		1		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		16		16
      S:		1.0788		8.6153
      L:		1624		208
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		10658777		10658775
      SFErr:		2287285		20812
      RS:		724796844		90599587
      RSCorr:		669058143		53106
      RSUnCorr:	22678869		0
      
      HEC:		2107128		11106
      OCD:		1248		11412
      LCD:		8		726
      Total Cells:	2720238734		0
      Data Cells:	14054567		0
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		140730		0
      SES:		40463		0
      UAS:		21		0
      Total time = 1 days 2 hours 20 min 32 sec
      SF  = 10658777
      CRC = 2287285
      LOS = 210
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 140730
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 20 min 32 sec
      SF  = 496017
      CRC = 275893
      LOS = 14
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 8266
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 32 sec
      SF  = 19585
      CRC = 10560
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 289
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 33769
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 867
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF  = 5082204
      CRC = 1506812
      LOS = 97
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 73934
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52931
      CRC = 28332
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 894
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 25496
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 897
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 32315
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 900
      I would really appreciate any help on this. Sorry if i have waffled too much I just wanted to give as much information as possible.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Unstable connection

      Your stats are really awful. Two problems, possibly linked: first you noise margin at 5.4db is at a level where you can expect problems; two, your line errors are horrendous - you're running at something like 50% CRCs and near 100% errored seconds. This means that huge amounts of data being sent is corrupt and having to be resent.

      Something in your connection is really bad. Most times this is down to using dodgy extensions or missing/faulty microfilters. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.
      Last edited by Saturday; 06-12-07 at 11:03 PM.

    4. #3
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unstable connection

      ^^^ Your line attenuation indicates that you should be getting twice the speed, but your noise margin is terrible and you are getting masses of errors. 900 errored seconds (ES) in 15 minutes is exactly 100%!

      You have a noisy line. Either an internal wiring problem or the line itself. Start by trying the router in the test socket of the master if you have one, then look at your extension wiring and disconnect any wires connected to terminal 3 (usually orange and white). The post again and see where we get!

      EDIT: Saturday beat me to the draw!

    5. #4
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable connection

      Thanks for the replies. I will try the master socket and disconnecting the wires in terminal 3 at the weekend and let you know!

    6. #5
      fwabbly's Avatar
      fwabbly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unstable connection

      Ok so ive just been around the whole house and none of the sockets are the master socket. Where the phone line came into the loft though there was a long cable split off from it that wasnt connected to anything so I have disconnected that. I have also disconnected terminal 3 in all of the sockets that had a wire going into it. Here are my new stats:
      Code:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime  Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4128 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			G.DMT
      Channel:		Interleave
      Trellis:		ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.4		13.0
      Attn(dB):	37.0		22.0
      Pwr(dBm):	19.8		12.1
      Max(Kbps):	4736		1088
      Rate (Kbps):	4128		768
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		130(0)		25
      R:		16		16
      S:		1		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		1		1
      B:		193		25
      M:		1		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		16		16
      S:		1.0824		8.6153
      L:		1552		208
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		12231		12229
      SFErr:		0		0
      RS:		831766		103946
      RSCorr:		0		0
      RSUnCorr:	0		0
      
      HEC:		0		0
      OCD:		0		0
      LCD:		0		0
      Total Cells:	2029969		0
      Data Cells:	16203		0
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		5140		0
      SES:		1064		0
      UAS:		395		0
      Total time = 21 hours 35 min 50 sec
      SF  = 4535247
      CRC = 52754
      LOS = 148
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 5140
      Latest 1 day time = 21 hours 35 min 50 sec
      SF  = 4535247
      CRC = 52754
      LOS = 148
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 5140
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 50 sec
      SF  = 12231
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 46754
      CRC = 298
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 4
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF  = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 50048
      CRC = 118
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52930
      CRC = 429
      LOS = 39
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 11
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 52931
      CRC = 38
      LOS = 34
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 25
      The errors look a lot better but i guess its not really a fair showing yet since its not been 24 hours since i fiddled with all the wiring. A connection of 4Mb is not good either when i should be getting 3 times that! Any suggestions of what to try next?

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unstable connection

      Those stats are not much better - less errors but a slower connection speed and the line attenuation is fractionally worse. If you really do not have a master socket then BT should be invited to fit one. I think I am right in saying they do not charge if your line has not been installed properly. Something is still very wrong.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION