Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

    This is a discussion on Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone help me out? I have been with Sky BB 16mb ADSL Max for 6 months and it's always ...

    1. #1
      phillai's Avatar
      phillai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Knottingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Knottingley
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      Can anyone help me out?

      I have been with Sky BB 16mb ADSL Max for 6 months and it's always been fantastic but recently in the past few weeks, my constant 15000k connection on the Sky Netgear v.1 D834GT has dropped to around 2000-3000k.

      I also noticed my noise margin has been increased from 7 db to a high 27.6 db!?

      I contacted Sky Tier 1 customer service and their customer service is atrocious - I lost my patience and got ****** off with the guy and put the phone down.

      I called Sky again the next day, I eventually got through to Tier 3 and the lady said there was definitely noise down the line and says the phone extension (that the Sky engineer guy put in originally) has definitely contributed to the noise and making me slow.

      So Sky, for the time being, have capped my connection to make it more stable.

      To cut a long story short, I couldn't get the router next to the master phone socket as there are no electric plug points nearby.

      Me being the ****** off guy that I am, I took up my mate's advice and booked a BT engineer guy (cost me 160.40!) to move the master phone socket closer to where the router is now.

      Now, the router is plugged directly into the master test socket which is 10cm away... And I'm still getting slow speeds!

      The only thing I noticed that's different is the noise margin before I plugged it into the newly located master socket was 27.6 db and through the test socket now, the noise margin is 26.9.

      Please note, I usually use the router wirelessly but the speeds seem the same running through the ethernet cable.

      A friend told me that it's a line quality issue? How do I get around that?

      I did contact BT directly and they tested my phone line and they did say that there were no problems, though.

      Just to let you guys know, I'm run 2 PC's wirelessly (but normally only one PC is on the majority of the time) and I got it running on channel 6 (auto 108Mbps). Nintendo Wii is also run wirelessly whereas my PS3 and Xbox 360 is run though the router via ethernet cable.
      MTU is set to 1500 ( I had it previously at 1458 but not sure if it really made a diference).
      I also have UPnP unticked on my Sky Netgear v.1 D834GT router.

      The Sky Netgear v.1 D834GT router has the original modem cable and Sky's phone line connection from the Sky+ box into an ADSL filter which is plugged straight into the master socket which is 10cm away.

      I am approximately 579 meters away from my local exchange.

      I hope I've provided enough information... Please, please can anyone help me out?

      I'm an avid gamer and frequent internet user and download alot and I'm really at my wits end and really would like my fast speed back!

      I have enclosed my stats from my router now (via ethernet cable).

      Many thanks in advance to everyone that helps me out.

      P.S. Sky said they are sending me a new router but I've not received it as yet.

      =============================================

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3264 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 27.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 22.0 14.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 9760 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 3264 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 103(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 103 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1538 9.0000
      L: 832 128
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 93037 93035
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 3163292 790797
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 12180266 0
      Data Cells: 113805 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 50 0
      Total time = 33 min 28 sec
      SF = 114265
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 33 min 28 sec
      SF = 114265
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 28 sec
      SF = 12232
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49102
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by phillai; 06-12-07 at 03:26 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      Quote Originally Posted by phillai View Post
      Now, the router is plugged directly into the master test socket which is 10cm away... And I'm still getting slow speeds!
      Yes - because your connection is capped at 3264 down and 448 up.

      You need to call Sky and get through to T3 to ask for it to be removed. This time maybe you need to keep your cool with the CSA as without their co-operation you're stuck at that speed (and no, I'm not suggesting you were capped to get back at you - it's an automatic process triggered by the earlier contact).

      . . . . and the use of swear words on the forum is not tolerated - note the swear filter asterisks. Please moderate your language.

    4. #3
      phillai's Avatar
      phillai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Knottingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Knottingley
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      Sorry for my swearing!

      Thanks for your prompt reply! I'll contact Sky now!

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      During the day the queues can be really bad. Phone after 11:00 - 11:30 at night and you'll probably get straight through to T3.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      tier 2 can do it too btw - there is no tier 2/3 any more - it's all CST!! lol
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      phillai's Avatar
      phillai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Knottingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Knottingley
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      Thank you to everyone that has helped me out!

      I just got off the phone from Sky and the lovely lady called Helen from T3 uncapped me and put me back on ADSL2+.

      She mentioned that she me on 15mb rather than 16mb as it gave a few more errors but this would be a much more error free connection...

      But I'm getting faster connections that before!

      I'm getting 1600k downloads on my newsgroups rather than 1500k now!

      These are my new stats now!

      ========================

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 25.0 13.7
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 16156 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2964 2962
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 385364 25177
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1747980 50823
      Data Cells: 1740 44
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 1
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 149 22
      Total time = 6 hours 54 min 42 sec
      SF = 66335
      CRC = 137
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 6 hours 54 min 42 sec
      SF = 66335
      CRC = 137
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 42 sec
      SF = 34094
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 32241
      CRC = 136
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      bonus - next time try and sort everything your end rather than call Sky as you'll just get capped again...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      how can tier 2/3 possibly reduce his noise margin by nearly 20db??

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      by removing the cap - thats why the SNR was so high...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow broadband speeds - Please help! I've wrote an essay!

      Quote Originally Posted by lee2007 View Post
      how can tier 2/3 possibly reduce his noise margin by nearly 20db??
      You're possibly missing the importance of the key word - margin?

      The noise margin reported by the router is not a measure of noise on the line. It is a measure of the margin it gave itself when it negotiated a connection with the exchange. This is in effect the difference between the actual SNR and the SNR the router requires to run at a given speed.

      If a connection is capped (i.e. the router is forced to accept a sync lower than that which it would normally give itself for the current line conditions) then this gap translates into a higher noise margin.

      For more details please see the first sticky in my signature.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION