Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Have I Been Capped?

    This is a discussion on Have I Been Capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been on Sky Broadband MAX since June, and have been Syncing at 15323 ever since Day One, and ...

    1. #1
      funkymunky's Avatar
      funkymunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Have I Been Capped?

      I have been on Sky Broadband MAX since June, and have been Syncing at 15323 ever since Day One, and my noise margin around 8.5 or 9, never going above 10. But ever since Dec 1st i have dropped to 7mb and my noise margin has gone up to 15.5db. I have my stats below. Can someone tell me if i have been capped or not? I just want my fast connection back!!!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7127 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.2 21.5
      Attn(dB): 28.0 14.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 14928 584
      Rate (Kbps): 7127 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 111(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 4
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 70
      B: 110 12
      M: 1 4
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4960 3.7260
      L: 2048 146
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3113729 3113727
      SFErr: 8 1
      RS: 404784812 52933359
      RSCorr: 3569 73
      RSUnCorr: 111 0

      HEC: 6 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 843938488 48804864
      Data Cells: 1093527 206346
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 9 1
      SES: 5 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 13 hours 57 min 3 sec
      SF = 3113729
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 57 min 3 sec
      SF = 3113729
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 3 sec
      SF = 44896
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55809
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55810
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55871
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55747
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tomochevski's Avatar
      tomochevski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tile Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      I thinks its the UPNP bug. Go into your router settings and untick turn on UPnP. Hope this helps.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by funkymunky View Post
      Can someone tell me if i have been capped or not?
      Yes you have been.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by tomochevski View Post
      I thinks its the UPNP bug.
      What?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Maybe mixed up with the 15.5 Attenuation bug, which has nothing to do with SNR or UPnP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Phunky's Avatar
      Phunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 765 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15468 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 8.5
      Attn(dB): 27.5 15.6
      Pwr(dBm): 1.5 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15544 1020
      Rate (Kbps): 15468 765
      G.dmt framing
      K: 111(0) 16
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 4
      D: 128 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 64 108
      B: 110 15
      M: 1 4
      T: 4 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.2291 2.5098
      L: 4225 255
      D: 128 8
      Counters
      SF: 10480561 10480559
      SFErr: 782 63
      RS: 2934557226 178169503
      RSCorr: 838734 131
      RSUnCorr: 37166 0

      HEC: 662 81
      OCD: 46 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1837100096 303263122
      Data Cells: 114619847 6918247
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 629 3
      SES: 152 2
      UAS: 14 19
      Total time = 1 days 22 hours 41 min 49 sec
      SF = 10480561
      CRC = 782
      LOS = 170
      LOF = 0
      ES = 629
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 41 min 49 sec
      SF = 5094655
      CRC = 331
      LOS = 67
      LOF = 0
      ES = 275
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 49 sec
      SF = 44261
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56106
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5385906
      CRC = 451
      LOS = 103
      LOF = 0
      ES = 354
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56106
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56106
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56168
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Could i have been capped? Speeds seem to be very slow of late.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by Phunky View Post
      Could i have been capped?
      No, you haven't been capped.

      Your stats look fine so its not line errors either.

      If you have speed problems look to other causes such as DNS (for surfing speeds), wireless problems if wireless, falling noise margin in the evening, etc.

    9. #8
      funkymunky's Avatar
      funkymunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      OK, i have been capped. So what is the best way about becoming uncapped. And thanks Phunky for hijacking my thread by posting your own stats! lol

    10. #9
      Phunky's Avatar
      Phunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Clamn down, we have the same problem its hardly a hijacked thread when we are both having the same problem and within West Yorkshire.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I Been Capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by funkymunky View Post
      So what is the best way about becoming uncapped
      Call Sky, go through the T1 troubleshooting for a slow connection and get transferred to T3. Ask T3 why you've been capped and ask for it to be lifted.

      Best time to call is after 11:30 at night or you'll probably not get through to T3 but get a call-back promise.

      Otherwise email (web form) and hope for the best.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION