Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Am I getting what I should?

    This is a discussion on Am I getting what I should? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I figured it would be a good idea to ask you folks whether I am getting what I should ...

    1. #1
      dylanparry's Avatar
      dylanparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gloucester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I getting what I should?

      Hi,

      I figured it would be a good idea to ask you folks whether I am getting what I should be! Basically, at the moment I am connected with G.DMT and getting ~5Mbps, but was wondering if I could get any better.

      Here are the detailed stats:

      -----
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5600 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 30.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 11.0
      Max(Kbps): 6208 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 5600 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 176(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 176 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0903 8.6153
      L: 1416 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 37757042 37757040
      SFErr: 1986 100
      RS: 2567478892 320934840
      RSCorr: 1307549797 4358
      RSUnCorr: 31004 0

      HEC: 1786 76
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4182542758 0
      Data Cells: 188928189 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2171 0
      SES: 1643 0
      UAS: 222 0
      -----

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dylanparry's Avatar
      dylanparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gloucester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      After moving the router to a different phone socket, I'm now getting:

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6208 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 46.0 30.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.9
      Max(Kbps): 6816 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 6208 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 195(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 195 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0816 8.6153
      L: 1568 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3057 3055
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 207892 25967
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 759906 0
      Data Cells: 1688 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      Your attenuation at 46db is too high to benefit from ADSL2+.

      Your sync at 6208kbps is low for your attenuation.

      Though the second set of stats are slightly better (lower attenuation, higher sync, fewer errors) they are still poor. Your low sync is almost certainly down to poor connection quality. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line issues.

      If you post your stats again, please don't cut off the detail as that can be vital for a sensible diagnosis of the problem.
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-12-07 at 12:20 PM.

    5. #4
      dylanparry's Avatar
      dylanparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gloucester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      Thanks, I'll do that.

    6. #5
      dylanparry's Avatar
      dylanparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gloucester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      Following your advice, I read through the posts in the cabling forum and found a few tip (removing the wire on pin 3 in the faceplate connection, for example). I've since managed to get a connection that's around 1Mbps greater than the original speed.

      Here's the details, being careful to paste the lot this time

      --- Start ---
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6560 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 46.0 30.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.5
      Max(Kbps): 7232 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 6560 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 206(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 206 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0772 8.6153
      L: 1656 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 706973 706971
      SFErr: 5 54
      RS: 48074178 6009253
      RSCorr: 16653 202
      RSUnCorr: 20 0

      HEC: 4 32
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 185954587 0
      Data Cells: 4259060 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5 0
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 3 hours 20 min 46 sec
      SF = 706973
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 20 min 46 sec
      SF = 706973
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 46 sec
      SF = 20349
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      --- End ---

      I don't particularly understand what things mean, with the exception of the SNR/Attn/Max/Rate bits. One thing I have noticed is that the SNR number has gone down by 1.0, which I suppose could be due to the time of day at which I rebooted the router. All still seems stable though.

      Is my connection still looking to be poorer than it should, or am I now getting around what I should? What should I be getting, if it's still looking poor?

      Cheers

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      That's not too far off what your line should be able to handle.

      Run a comparison with just the router plugged into the test socket (if you have one) using just a filter and the supplied router cable. No need to see your full stats this time just attenuation sync and noise margin. If you get an improvement then that's what you could expect if you improved things further. Doubt you'll see too much of a boost though.

    8. #7
      dylanparry's Avatar
      dylanparry is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gloucester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting what I should?

      Gave that a try a little earlier in the day, and although I don't remember the exact numbers, they weren't all that much better than the ones I'm getting now - so much so that it's not worth the effort to unplug the router and unscrew the faceplate to post them

      Thanks for all your help!

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION