Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Should I move to Sky Broadband?

    This is a discussion on Should I move to Sky Broadband? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; not an expert on gaming though i understand that it does. Seems to me you will have a made a ...

    1. #11
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      not an expert on gaming though i understand that it does. Seems to me you will have a made a good choice switching to Sky


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by adz07 View Post
      So would there be a speed advantage moving to Sky?
      Absolutely no advantage at all. It's the cabling between the exchange and your router (and that includes the telephone wiring in your house) which determines how fast your ADSL connection goes, and even when you switch to Sky, you'll be using the same piece of wire, so the speed will be about the same. The only situation where that isn't the case, is where you've got a short, good quality line which could support a speed above 8 Mbit/sec.

      Since that isn't the case with your line, there's not really much chance of getting a faster connection.

    4. #13
      adz07's Avatar
      adz07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      Doesn't ADSL 2+ work different to ADSL though? I wouldn't expect a better service using the Up to 8mb service, but the 16mb service should be faster?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      As a rule Sky will not give you an ADSL2+ connection if your attenuation is high. Yours is, so you would be on G..DMT, which gives a similar speed to your existing connection. That is assuming you are on an 'up to 8mb' connection and not 2 mb fixed.

      Like thousands of others you would probably gain a lot by fixing your internal wiring. Have a look in the Cable and faceplate forum for lots of information on how to do this. One thing which can very often show an immediate effect is disconnecting the ring wire. This is the wire that is fixed to Terminal 3 in all your sockets. It is not required with modern electronic pulse phones. Try this first and you may get a surprise.

      Sky's biggest advantage is it's very low cost, but this forum attests to how difficult it can be at times.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      adz07's Avatar
      adz07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      Would they offer me the Max option if they couldn't offer ADSL 2+?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      They will offer you Max (if it is available) but will not supply you with all that it is capable of. As many have discovered, being on MAX does not mean you get ADSL2+, only that you have an unlimited download and speed of up to 16mb. The 'up to' being the important bit, 512kbps is 'up to' 16mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      WelshBluebird's Avatar
      WelshBluebird is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWTDU
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Rhondda
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      To disagree with what others have said, I personally think you will see a faster speed on sky.

      First of all, BT use a silly system in regards to the target SNR. For me anyway, it has never worked probably, and has meant that I am getting probably 1Mbps less sync speed that I should.

      Also, BT use a IP profile system, which means even if your connected at say 2Mbps, you wouldn'y see that as a download speed. Sky do not use that, so even if your sync speed doesn't increase, your download speeds should.
      Last edited by WelshBluebird; 02-12-07 at 11:56 PM.

    9. #18
      adz07's Avatar
      adz07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      In that case I'll definently move, thats one of the most annoying things with BT, I was at one point syncing at 2.7 mb but only getting a 2mb connection.

      And I'll still be paying a lot less!

    10. #19
      pntalbot8's Avatar
      pntalbot8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      If this helps --I am on Sky `Mid` --5 per month, Attenuation is 36, live 1.25 miles from Exchange and get a regular 6.7 mbps.

    11. #20
      adz07's Avatar
      adz07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move to Sky Broadband?

      Thanks for your help guys.

      Think I'll go for the Max option, even if I don't get put on ADSL 2+, it will still be cheaper, and we do alot of downloading here so the cap on Mid might not be so good.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION