Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

    This is a discussion on Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am considering switching from bulldog in Dec to Sky as my contract with bully is up I am wondering ...

    1. #1
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      I am considering switching from bulldog in Dec
      to Sky as my contract with bully is up

      I am wondering how long I might be without
      internet access though as I use it for working
      from home

      trouble is my line is now supplied by bulldog so
      I cant do the normal BT mac code switch, I
      think I will need to speak to BT to do a return to
      donor on the line, I wondered if anybody knows how
      long it will take before I can get sky broadband on
      the line, think I will need to book time off work for
      this switch so need an idea of loss of service time


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      As far as I know, you should be able to get a MAC code from Bulldog and transfer to Sky using that. This should mean downtime of no more than 30 minutes. But having never done such a thing myself, I wouldn't take that as gospel.

    4. #3
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      As far as I know, you should be able to get a MAC code from Bulldog and transfer to Sky using that. This should mean downtime of no more than 30 minutes. But having never done such a thing myself, I wouldn't take that as gospel.
      Fraid not, Bulldog is MPF and not SMPF like "Skeasynet" (hey it worked with Skoogle )

      When I transferred from Bulldog I had to do an RTD and Bullshi... er Bulldog dragged thier heels which took 3 weeks to get off my line (they cut my INet off in 1 week) then Sky was installed within the 14 day timeframe they stated.

      btw.. Dialup is painful
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    5. #4
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      mmm sounds bad , I thought a RTD would mean you would
      still be live with bulldog till the day BT take over the line

      then just a delay while Sky provision on the now BT line,
      think this is going to get painfull isnt it

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      Quote Originally Posted by TRIaXOR™ View Post
      Fraid not, Bulldog is MPF and not SMPF like "Skeasynet" (hey it worked with Skoogle )
      Eh? How can Bulldog not use SMPF if their customer is still getting their normal telephone service from BT?

      Actually, maybe that's an important question. Is the OP getting their normal telephone service from BT or from Bulldog?

    7. #6
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Eh? How can Bulldog not use SMPF if their customer is still getting their normal telephone service from BT?
      They dont, They get a VoIP based system from Bulldog which imho is substandard.
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      Oh yeah, you're right. Looking at Bulldog's home page, I got the impression that they offer a broadband service without a telephone service, but reading a bit further I saw, "All our broadband packages are available exclusively through a Bulldog Line."

    9. #8
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Oh yeah, you're right.
      Reason I knew is I used to be a customer of these shower of cowboys.. thankfully now thier just a painful memory
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    10. #9
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      OK to reignite a old flame, I have given up moving
      back to BT after calling them about 10 times they finally
      tell me I have to pay £125 to RTD to Bt even though it was
      a BT line in the first place,

      So I called up Bulldog and they offered to knock £10 a month
      off my dsl service making it £14.50, and to be fair calling Bulldog is whole lot better than the experience I have had from BT recently, and well the speed as you can see below is not to bad.

      So no Sky max for me yet
      Last edited by dsldude; 13-03-08 at 08:10 PM.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from Bulldog to Sky timeframe

      So I called up Bulldog and they offered to knock £10 a month
      off my dsl service making it £14.50
      If this is a permanent price and not a short term offer, you would be crazy to move.

      It is something that is not explained when you move, but BT charging a reconnection fee is quite normal. It is a very expensive operation for an engineer to go to an exchange and move a couple of wires you know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION