Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 67

    After a problem free year - horribly wrong

    This is a discussion on After a problem free year - horribly wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; He also claimed that the fluctuating noise margings (2.6 ~ 15.0) and line attenuation (18.0 ~ 36.0) were because I ...

    1. #31
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      He also claimed that the fluctuating noise margings (2.6 ~ 15.0) and line attenuation (18.0 ~ 36.0) were because I was on ADSL2 ??????????


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I don't blame you for getting annoyed according to the SkyUser tester

      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      It seems strange that they are only able to offer 8. I do not believe that your phone line has been properly checked.
      They are grasping at straws Isitme. They have exhausted everything else - new routers, microfilters, wiring, blah, blah, blah. I have to go through the same drivel every call.

    4. #33
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Get in contact with the customer resolutions team and get them to do a TPS at the exchange.

      I have just resolved my problems with a TPS and purchasing a AdslNations filtered face plate and a filtered socket for the extension by my computer.

      Im not connected at full rate now (15232) but Im at 10239 and a little call hopefully will resolve that.

      Hope you get your problem sorted soon.

      Merry Christmas M8.
      Last edited by The Realist; 12-12-07 at 08:10 PM.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    5. #34
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Thanks realist.

    6. #35
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Received another new router today which looks the exact same as my other two (white netgear), so I haven't bothered trying it.

      Since they took me off ADSL2+ I haven't had any down time and the netgear gateway stats


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8000 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.0 db 13.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 14.0 db

      seem very stable. The connection speed hasn't altered at all since the change (before it was connecting at a large variety of speeds from 2 mbps to 15 mbps) although speed tests are only returning around 5 mbps. That's pretty slow considering that, when it was all working OK on ADSL2+, tests were averaging 15 mbps and even returned 26 mbps.

      Having said all that, I get the impression that web pages are loading faster. The guy from tier 3 said that when he was monitoring on ADSL2+ loads of errors were reported but these disappeared when he switched the line to NOT ADSL2+. Does what he said tie in with the web pages loading faster and what I've said previously (i.e. fluctuating line attenuation and noise margins etc.)? Maybe I'm just going through one of the stable spells I had before but, if I don't suffer any more dropped connections, should I just accept not being on ADSL2+?

    7. #36
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Strange how loads of people are reporting similar problems.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    8. #37
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Lost connection twice today and phoned again. Genuises have now put me on 7 mbps. When I asked at what point this stopped (was it dial up speed) I was told this should do the trick as there were now no errors showing on the line (same sh1t I was told by their 8 mbps genuis). The guy couldn't give me any reason why a line that was fine at 16 mbps for 10 months suddenly couldn't handle 8 mbps but would be able to handle 7 mbps.


      When it goes down this time I'm contacting the ispa rather than wasting another hour with the fkrs.

    9. #38
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      it needs a TPS - simple as - and only CST (tier 3) should be clever enough to work that out...if they're not trying it then they're not doing the job correctly. The varying SNRs and att. levels are showing a line fault somewhere (im assuming you're in the test socket at all times) so its gonna be somewhere at the exchange or BT have screwed up somewhere along its length
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #39
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      I am in the test socket IAmNotTheEnemy. Excuse my ignorance but what exactly is a TPS? I don't want to phone up demanding one without knowing.

      This was the stats after I booted up today.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 320 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 9.0 db

      Dial up here I come.

    11. #40
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      well its a definate line issue - might NOT be exchange end but wouldn't hurt to get it checked out.

      a TPS (tie pair shift) is where the line is moved from one port in the exchange to another one - usually because the one in use is faulty. but it's normally done as someone can't connection at all - not for a varying SNR
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION