Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 67

    After a problem free year - horribly wrong

    This is a discussion on After a problem free year - horribly wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I always thought the noisy phone was just down to the phone being faulty but I replaced it with another ...

    1. #21
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      I always thought the noisy phone was just down to the phone being faulty but I replaced it with another phone last night and it had the noise as well. The noise disappears though when I cut off the power from the router so it seems to be caused by the proximity of the router to the phone (the phone in question sits on a ledge directly above and within 8 inches of the router). That suggests the noise isn't coming through the phone line to it, which explaains why it an't be heard on the other phones.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      I get the same problem when I use the phone and the router is on I get tones in the background (noise) and it goes away when the router is off.

      Before anyone says its the filters, read my thread above and its the same from the test socket.

      I think its an exchange issue myself and loads of people are complaining about this and Im thinking its the software update.

      But thats me thinking out loud.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #23
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      So much for the new router which "may take up to 5 days to arrive". I'm still waiting, although the problem's been non-existent over the last 4 days.

    5. #24
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Problem returned yesterday and continued today. Replacement router arrived mid-day. Exact same model as old one. I installed it and the problem persisted. I phoned sky and tech support in India insist they're sending me another new router. Keeps phoning tech support until I get an Irish voice. Explained problem and he puts me through to top level mob. They try amending the speed and testing the line but keep getting errors. Eventually, when it's reset back to its' usual speed the errors vanish and the guy gives me the startling news that the line is fine (even though it wasn't seconds earlier when set at slower speeds). After listening to 15 minutes of verbal **** I agreed to phone back once the internet is down although I know by the time I get through it will be back up again. I think the only way I'm going to get this resolved is by changing providers. All in all I'd say I was on to sky's 0870 numbers for around 80 minutes today. What's that in real money?

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      5p-odd a min x 80....4ish....not a lot really
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Certainly not a lot to Rupert Fkng Murdoch. Another hour today and no further forward.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Your line has intermittent errors, which can only be fixed by BT. Sky have just wasted time and money by throwing new routers at it. A loose joint somewhere along the line or even dampness in the cable could cause it. Like all intermittent errors, it could be difficult to find.

      Ref your other problem with noise on the phone when it is near the router. Have you tried turning off the wireless point. If this cures it, then you may need to change channel for a permanent solution, if you use the wireless that is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Isitme, if I stick my hand above the router antenna then the noise on the phone stops. I'll try changing channels later.

    10. #29
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8000 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.0 db 13.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 13.0 db

      The latest sh1t is they've taken me off ADSL2 and cut me back to 8 mbps. They say my line doesn't support ADSL2 (couldn't explain why it did for first 10 months though) and that was why I was losing connection. Will doubtless have to phone back tomorrow to say I'm still losing the connection.

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      I don't blame you for getting annoyed according to the SkyUser tester

      ADSL2+ Speed Test

      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.

      It seems strange that they are only able to offer 8. I do not believe that your phone line has been properly checked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION