Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 67

    After a problem free year - horribly wrong

    This is a discussion on After a problem free year - horribly wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I said, if you hear any noise at all, it is worth reporting. What attenuation do you show when ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      As I said, if you hear any noise at all, it is worth reporting. What attenuation do you show when you use the Test socket? I have to doubt that internal wiring could cause such wild fluctuations.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As I said, if you hear any noise at all, it is worth reporting. What attenuation do you show when you use the Test socket? I have to doubt that internal wiring could cause such wild fluctuations.
      Much the same as when plugged in normally Isitme. I will get my wife to listen to the quiet line when the problem returns and see if she hears anything.

    4. #13
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Armed with some of the ammunition you guys gave me, I called them today. They're sending me a replacement router and if the problem continues with that they'll have the line checked out (so they say anyway). Will report back how I get on.

    5. #14
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      If it continues then it would be troubleshot from the beginning again and this time a replacement router would not be an option as already sent out. This would mean an escalation for CST to investigate other potential issues (line etc).

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      They're sending me a replacement router and if the problem continues with that they'll have the line checked out
      Unbelievable!!!!!!! Anyone with any sense would check the line first and if it was OK, then send out a router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Lord Nikon's Avatar
      Lord Nikon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 21Mbps BeUnlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Isitme, not nececesarily. from what I understand, a line check by BT (a Health Check I think it's called) costs quite alot of money wheras the router costs a pittenance in comparison. So if it was me, I would try changing the cheapest option first.
      On the issue that tomtom has had, about a year back I was with pipex and had a silimar issue - perfect connection for months that suddenly went wrong. it turned out that an engineer working in a manhole had damaged the wiring and bare cable was touching other exposed cables and causing my connection to, basically, mess up. eventually the cables in the manhole were replaced and all was fine again (except I was still with pipex ).

    8. #17
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      I have the very same problem as the OP and if you read my post here on the forum you will see Im trying to get a TPS done.

      I have checked and my exchange has just had a update done (software I think) and it was carried out around the same time my troubles started.

      Regards.

      This is my exchange details regarding the update. Check yours and see if you had any updates done around the time the problem started. See Here: Easynet Exchange Software Updates

      Status: Planned Maintenance
      Service: DSL and SureStream Access
      Product: Business DSL Option 2
      Started: 15/11/2007 00:00:00
      Estimate Finish Date: 15/11/2007 06:00:00
      Resolved: Active
      Duration: Not applicable
      Last Updated: 13/11/2007 11:13:32
      Location: Software Update 2
      Additional: None
      Fault: Software Update 2
      Details: The software upgrade will cause a 30 mins outage for the following exchanges :-


      And this is my thread: Going bald slowly......
      Last edited by The Realist; 03-12-07 at 04:34 PM.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    9. #18
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      The recent bout only started around the 28th The Realist. The updates seemed to stop a while before that and the only one I noticed on my exchange was much earlier in the month.

    10. #19
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Just read your thread The Realist and, funny enough, I have a phone with the constant clicking noise but I've had that ever since I changed over to sky (i.e. even when I was getting my 15 mbps). My setup is, the modem is plugged directly into the faceplate, one of these B&Q extention things is plugged into the phone slot on the faceplate and branches out to several rooms (i.e. all other phone sockets in the house are spurs). The offending phone is next to the faceplate and plugged into the B&Q extender which is plugged into the faceplate. The noise can't be heard on any of the other phones.

    11. #20
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: After a problem free year - horribly wrong

      Its strange that of late loads of people are complaining as well and I've always syched at 15323 down since I've had Sky Max.

      Now Im struggling to get a constant connection and speed.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION