Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

    This is a discussion on Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by TSx If you mention complaining, you'll be given the stock "For complaints you need to write in" ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by TSx
      If you mention complaining, you'll be given the stock "For complaints you need to write in"
      Not if you ask for a TL, we can get those escalated if someone is available but this is on BB T1, provisioning may not escalate this way. Obviously we always advise customers to contact complaints via post or through the "contact us" link on sky.com


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Not if you ask for a TL, we can get those escalated if someone is available but this is on BB T1, provisioning may not escalate this way. Obviously we always advise customers to contact complaints via post or through the "contact us" link on sky.com
      Yes, unfortunately whilst "escalating to a TM" sounds good over the phone, it rarely actually speeds things up. Then theres the fact that the system to escalate to a TM (as opposed to a different team) involves writing down the account details on a bit of paper and passing them to the TM when its quiet / at the end of the shift. Invariably a good 50% of these scraps of paper then get misplaced or lost.

      If the broadband on the old phone number has disappeared from Chordiant (sky accounts software), then no problem - if, however, its gone to Cancel Failure because there isn't anything on the line that can be cancelled, or its stuck in Pending Cancel then it needs to go to to SRT to send off to the Chordiant developers to get the account fixed. This is where the delays start coming in, because SRT can only send a small number of software issues off each day.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

    4. #13
      Dazzlew's Avatar
      Dazzlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCAIM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Well I've called again today and the only update they could advise is that they escalation is with IT since 24th Nov and there is not update

    5. #14
      Dazzlew's Avatar
      Dazzlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCAIM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Rang again today - the department is on holiday until the new year now over 2 months without broadband

    6. #15
      gibbletts's Avatar
      gibbletts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: low fell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Hopefully you've managed to get your broadband sorted by now but if not you could be in for the nightmare we had. Same story changed the number, rang and told them but was advised that it wouldn't make any difference. A few weeks later when the broadband went off reported this to the technical people who basically didn't have a clue, no call back as promised. Anyway to cut a long story short I eventually found out after a 4 hour phone where I went from England to India then to the Phillipines then to Scotland that they had cocked up the changeover and their computer systems weren't able to do it so someone would have to do it manually. The saga went on and it eventually took 2 months to get sorted. Good Luck.

    7. #16
      Dazzlew's Avatar
      Dazzlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCAIM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      I gave Sky 1 more week to sort out my lack of broadband, and guess what they were no closer to getting me back connected.

      So i signed up with BE Free Connection and 1 mth free package at 14 a month. Total time to get connected 4 working days..

      GET LOST YOU SKY BROADBAND MUPPITS.

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      end of the day, it was your fault...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      end of the day, it was your fault...

      You think so? Why shouldn't people be allowed to change there phone numbers if they need to?? Sky should have proceedures in place to deal with this sort of thing! It's like the guy on another thread who's router packed up just out of warranty, Sky didn't have a procedure to get an out of warranty router replaced!They told him it would be quicker for him to go to another ISP.
      Sky have been in this game 2 years this summer its about time they sorted there act out.

    10. #19
      Dazzlew's Avatar
      Dazzlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCAIM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      end of the day, it was your fault...
      Granted i didn't know that if i changed my phone number due to nuiscance calls that Sky's IT system couldn't cope. I gave them enough time 3 months in fact to correct what is a glitch in their system.

      And my connection with BE is much better as well


    11. #20
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please Help - Changed Phone Number can't get broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      end of the day, it was your fault...
      Sorry but thats wrong. Fair enough - when he's changed it, it being off for 2 weeks for a reprovide, but 3 months? Any other provider could have handled it. How long would you give your internet provider to get your broadband back up and running? Sky's had long enough and had enough reports from staff to know that their systems and processes are broke but choose not to fix them.
      I am not posting officially on behalf of Sky. I am posting individual thoughts and advice.
      Sky Broadband Provisioning: 08705 515 515 - Option 1, Option 1, Option 3

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION