Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    High Ping all of a sudden

    This is a discussion on High Ping all of a sudden within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So this morning I was playing Counter Strike with a ping of <50 which was no problem at all. I ...

    1. #1
      remondo's Avatar
      remondo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      High Ping all of a sudden

      So this morning I was playing Counter Strike with a ping of <50 which was no problem at all. I later joined the exact same 2 servers and my ping was 300+. Is there something Sky do to ruin my ping because I have only just reformated my XP PC thinking it was spyware causing this problem. I have spybot and mcafee so I can't see that anything has intruded within the last few hours.

      Is there any well known spyware that causes my bandwidth to be drained? Or are sky doing this purposely because, like most people I have had nothing but problems from these money thieving crooks?!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      I'm getting pretty steady pings of around 34/35 msec, so there doesn't seem to be any network-wide issue. I think it unlikely that Sky would be going out of their way to make your connection poor for gaming use - I mean, why would they? Gamers aren't exactly a drain on network resources like downloaders are.

      Most likely there is some network congestion somewhere. Maybe a connection to one of Sky's peers is down and more traffic than usual is passing through a particular router, causing it to run at very high load. It's difficult to say really without seeing the output from tracert, and even then it might not be possible to see what the problem is.

      Before Sky took them over, Easynet had a good reputation for the reliability and resilience of its network, but Sky Broadband has been expanding very rapidly and this inevitably puts pressure on their network. It's something than all ISPs which undergo rapid expansion seem to suffer from.

      Hopefully the problem which you're seeing will just be a transient issue, but ultimately, it has to be said that if rock-solid reliability and a network working at peak efficiency, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year is what you want or need, a 10 per month broadband package is probably not what you should choose.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      Those
      money thieving crooks?!
      are providing a service which would cost you up to 3 times as much elsewhere plus providing your router, I don't there is much thieving going on. Have you asked for your delay to be reduced?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      remondo's Avatar
      remondo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      To be honest I don't want to have to phone sky and get charged the earth, espaecially as I only have a mobile being a student.

      One thing I changed yesterday before my ping went ridiculously high was I added my laptop to the network, and joined my desktop and laptop via a workgroup so i could share files. Could this have changed a setting somewhere which has caused my ping to increase so much?

      Here are my tracert results to Google

      Tracing route to Google [64.233.183.99]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 607 ms 525 ms 355 ms cr1.myhea.uk.easynet.net [87.87.252.88]
      3 316 ms 598 ms 436 ms 80.238.53.193
      4 686 ms 412 ms 518 ms 72.14.198.126
      5 379 ms 588 ms 523 ms 72.14.198.125
      6 583 ms 775 ms 318 ms 209.85.252.42
      7 725 ms 487 ms 539 ms 72.14.233.63
      8 563 ms 628 ms 321 ms 64.233.175.246
      9 321 ms 309 ms 225 ms 72.14.233.79
      10 282 ms 283 ms 325 ms 209.85.249.129
      11 339 ms 274 ms 450 ms nf-in-f99.google.com [64.233.183.99]

      Trace complete.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      You don't have to phone to get it changed, you can use the Web form You can find the form here-
      https://mysky.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/kana

      There does seem to be something wrong, here is my trace over the same route-
      Tracing route to nf-in-f99.google.com [64.233.183.99]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 62 ms 62 ms 60 ms cr0.esban.uk.easynet.net [87.87.251.7]
      3 56 ms 57 ms 57 ms 87.87.131.97
      4 70 ms 71 ms 70 ms 72.14.198.126
      5 70 ms 70 ms 69 ms 72.14.198.125
      6 70 ms 69 ms 69 ms 209.85.252.40
      7 82 ms 79 ms 82 ms 72.14.233.63
      8 82 ms 81 ms 80 ms 209.85.248.79
      9 80 ms 80 ms 81 ms 72.14.233.79
      10 80 ms 80 ms 80 ms 216.239.43.34
      11 80 ms 81 ms 81 ms nf-in-f99.google.com [64.233.183.99]

      Trace complete.
      Quite a difference, but I don't see how anything you have done can cause such a substantial increase in your figure. Anything connected with your network would be taken up in the first hop I would think. Maybe someone will have an idea what is going on. If it were one hop that was taking time it could be an overloaded server, but not them all.
      Last edited by Isitme; 27-11-07 at 04:27 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      remondo's Avatar
      remondo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If i reset my router the stats are a much different story:

      Tracing route to Google [64.233.183.104]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 49 ms 34 ms 32 ms cr1.myhea.uk.easynet.net [87.87.252.88]
      3 29 ms 30 ms 28 ms 80.238.53.193
      4 36 ms 37 ms 36 ms 72.14.198.126
      5 34 ms 36 ms 36 ms 72.14.198.125
      6 35 ms 123 ms 75 ms 209.85.252.42
      7 45 ms 44 ms 80 ms 209.85.248.80
      8 46 ms 47 ms 46 ms 72.14.232.141
      9 45 ms 46 ms 48 ms 72.14.233.83
      10 50 ms 54 ms 57 ms 216.239.43.34
      11 47 ms 46 ms 47 ms nf-in-f104.google.com [64.233.183.104]

      Trace complete.

      But then most of the time after about 10seconds my ping is 300+ again. Although as I write this it was remained at <50! I doubt it will stay that way but we will see.

      Can you explain how reducing my delay works and what I do?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      Have a read through this THREAD and make any further enquires about 'delay' there, you are more likely to get some help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      delay will be a short term fix, a myth as it were to get u off the phone, just give them a call. Delays very rarely fix this but an error check would be beneficial. Connection will be intermittent after the delays are changed, it seems to be one of these lets all follow the crowd's idea thing. Call them and find out what is really wrong with the line and be assured there is not an agent assigned to every customer just to look at their line and see how to make them call tech support, u are not that important, believe that lol..

      BTW 7.5p a min daytime 3.5 evening and 1.5ppm weekend, compare to NTL's flatrate 25ppm and then try calling
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      Reducing max delays might shave a few milliseconds off the latency - it won't reduce 300+ pings down to less than 50.

      I know it's a bit of an obvious question, but I wonder if Windows auto-updates are switched on. If it's a clean install of XP, it'll want to download a hell of a lot of patches. Resetting the router will stop the download, and pings will be back below 50 msec, but as soon as Windows Update sees that the link is back up, it'll start downloading again.

      Like I said, it's an obvious point, but I thought it might be worth mentioning.

    11. #10
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: High Ping all of a sudden

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Reducing max delays might shave a few milliseconds off the latency - it won't reduce 300+ pings down to less than 50.

      I know it's a bit of an obvious question, but I wonder if Windows auto-updates are switched on. If it's a clean install of XP, it'll want to download a hell of a lot of patches. Resetting the router will stop the download, and pings will be back below 50 msec, but as soon as Windows Update sees that the link is back up, it'll start downloading again.

      Like I said, it's an obvious point, but I thought it might be worth mentioning.
      yeah there's so many variables, people should stop believing there's a miracle cure, hence why tech support exists
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION