Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

    This is a discussion on Like many others, my connection keeps dropping. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am on the sky broadband max package. When the broadband works its really good. Quite often, (2-3 times a ...

    1. #1
      Artist's Avatar
      Artist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      I am on the sky broadband max package. When the broadband works its really good. Quite often, (2-3 times a day) the connection will drop even though the router says its connected and nothing will load, all pages will time out.

      It only connects at 1.2megabit instead of the max of 1.6 and I am 1km away from the exchange.

      I'm going to try to play around with it today, try different phone sockets, althought I don't know how to find the main one.

      I thought i would post my stats first incase there is something obvious anyone can spot. I have just disabled the upnp so will have to wait to see if that changes anything.


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12860 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 11.5
      Attn(dB): 25.5 13.2
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12920 864
      Rate (Kbps): 12860 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 241(0) 24
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 102 68
      B: 240 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 0.5971 7.7037
      L: 3416 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 142365 142363
      SFErr: 67 1
      RS: 15375512 1210085
      RSCorr: 131700 587202560
      RSUnCorr: 1980 0

      HEC: 64 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 69620712 4136154
      Data Cells: 156560 23548
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 50 1
      SES: 18 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 38 min 35 sec
      SF = 142365
      CRC = 67
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 50
      Latest 1 day time = 38 min 35 sec
      SF = 142365
      CRC = 67
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 50
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 35 sec
      SF = 31933
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55868
      CRC = 45
      LOS = 12
      LOF = 0
      ES = 29
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54564
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      THanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      The master socket should be the first socket on your line as it enters the house, if you have extensions they run from this more often than not. Sometimes the master has a physical split in the plate that runs just above the screws.
      The SNR is not exactly high on your stats and could be the reason for disconnects later in the day.

    4. #3
      Artist's Avatar
      Artist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      I have found the master socket, it's not plugged into it.
      The connection just dropped again but that was just after i started a program that uses upnp, the router had it set to disabled so that shouldn't cause a problems should it?

      The master socket is in an awkward place, if i was to run an extension lead from the socket would that cause a problem still?

    5. #4
      retatco's Avatar
      retatco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01202
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      I had this problem on joining sky, tried all the posted tricks to no avail, asked Sky for the new type router - no chance !!! I told them I would get a new router myself, they said OK, if I thought it would do any good.
      I bought a ZyXel P-660HW-T1 and have had no problems since. It worked right out of the box.

    6. #5
      Artist's Avatar
      Artist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      Well I have an older router that I can try out but i prefer the UI and look of the sky one so I will try to get that working first.

      I have plugged the router into the main socket now and here are some stats. I didnt remove the faceplate on the socket.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12126 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.3 12.0
      Attn(dB): 25.0 13.0
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12176 864
      Rate (Kbps): 12126 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 241(0) 24
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 96 68
      B: 240 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 0.6333 7.7037
      L: 3221 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 106539 106537
      SFErr: 73 1
      RS: 10867026 905564
      RSCorr: 19784 587202560
      RSUnCorr: 2309 0

      HEC: 69 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 49210289 3067277
      Data Cells: 507605 93876
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 68 1
      SES: 38 0
      UAS: 14 178
      Total time = 29 min 0 sec
      SF = 106539
      CRC = 73
      LOS = 39
      LOF = 0
      ES = 68
      Latest 1 day time = 29 min 0 sec
      SF = 106539
      CRC = 73
      LOS = 39
      LOF = 0
      ES = 68
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 0 sec
      SF = 52063
      CRC = 44
      LOS = 23
      LOF = 0
      ES = 42
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54476
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 26
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Just an update... I have now connected straight to the main socket, (removed the faceplate) and as you can see the broadband is connecting at the full speed and noise has gone up, which I think is in the case a good thing? I'm no expert though. There hasnt been any LOS either, what do you guys think?

      New stats :
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 24.5 12.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18364 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 63372 63370
      SFErr: 11 1
      RS: 8238452 538645
      RSCorr: 1502 0
      RSUnCorr: 133 0

      HEC: 10 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 37085921 1813064
      Data Cells: 494482 78307
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 9 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 17 41
      Total time = 17 min 31 sec
      SF = 63372
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 1 day time = 17 min 31 sec
      SF = 63372
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 31 sec
      SF = 9388
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 53984
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by Artist; 26-11-07 at 02:30 PM.

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      ^^^ This almost certainly indicates that there is a problem with your internal wiring, as your latest stats are excellent.

      Looking at the faceplate that you have removed to access the test socket, if there any any wires connected to terminal 3, usually orange and white, then just remove them and your problems may be solved. You do not need these "ring generator" wires when you have ADSL filters in place, and they are a common cause of line noise.

    8. #7
      Artist's Avatar
      Artist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      thanks for your help, I have removed the wire now and my extensions now connect at 16000kps although the noise level isnt quite as high. I think i can get away with wires 1 and 6 too although i will double check later

    9. #8
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      Quote Originally Posted by Artist View Post
      thanks for your help, I have removed the wire now and my extensions now connect at 16000kps although the noise level isnt quite as high. I think i can get away with wires 1 and 6 too although i will double check later
      Yes, you are right, they can be removed as they don't do anything at all! Only pins 2 & 5 are required to be connected, usually the blue & white pair.

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      Other extra pairs of wires (like 1 and 6) shouldn't really make much difference, though. The ring wire, on the other hand, is a particular problem because it connects (through a few components) to the actual signal wires (2 and 5) and because it's not a closed circuit, it effectively acts as a ruddy great big aerial, doing nothing except picking up interference.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Like many others, my connection keeps dropping.

      You would benefit from using an ADSL Nation faceplate, which isolates your internal wiring right at the source.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION