Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Check my stats please!!!???

    This is a discussion on Check my stats please!!!??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i would get BT to it myself, afaik you should have a master socket in the house (even if its ...

    1. #11
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      i would get BT to it myself, afaik you should have a master socket in the house (even if its an old style one) and if you do try yourself and bugger anything, BT will charge a fortune to correct
      But thats just me


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      ^ for some reason i thought he was on about the xte2005 :S

      yeah, get BT to do it....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      ^^^ was a bit supprised when you had suggested a 5 min job

    5. #14
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      ^^^ was a bit supprised when you had suggested a 5 min job
      That's about how long it takes - just 2 wires to connect to 2 screws if it is just replacing an old style master. I have heard BT (Openreach) charge 119 callout to fit a socket you can buy for 3 on eBay!

    6. #15
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      until something goes wrong !!(i know it should not, but there is always a way to bugger something simple and i did not trusrt myself to do it)
      the master socket should be in the house (OP has one outside ?) BT should not charge to fit one if you do not have one in the house (did mine for free)
      but i would always advise to check with BT before you get them out

    7. #16
      bjs2007uk's Avatar
      bjs2007uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      Hi thanks for all your replies. I have decided to get the cap removed up to 5MB for downstream and get the cap removed altogether on the upstream. I have sent Sky an e-mail explaining I want to try it at that speed to see if it is stable with the new wiring. Should hopefully get a reply later this week. I would ring up but last time I called to get the cap removed I was told they couldn't do it.

      Would it be worth posting more up to date stats to see how the wiring has affected the connection?

    8. #17
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      ^^ it could not hurt

    9. #18
      bjs2007uk's Avatar
      bjs2007uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      Here are my stats from 5mins ago:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 288 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3072 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 20.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 16.1 0.4
      Max(Kbps): 7552 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 3072 288
      G.dmt framing
      K: 97(0) 10
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 97 10
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1632 17.4545
      L: 784 88
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5094493 5094491
      SFErr: 31 0
      RS: 173212782 21651586
      RSCorr: 16647 0
      RSUnCorr: 530 0

      HEC: 28 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 627490327 0
      Data Cells: 5714963 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 88 0
      SES: 87 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 days 3 min 55 sec
      SF = 5094493
      CRC = 31
      LOS = 200
      LOF = 0
      ES = 88
      Latest 1 day time = 3 min 55 sec
      SF = 13821
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 55 sec
      SF = 13821
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080672
      CRC = 31
      LOS = 197
      LOF = 0
      ES = 86
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6

      Please can someone check if they are ok?

      Thanks

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      Max(Kbps): 7552 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 3072 288

      that can be seen by CST so they should realise the line can take more - regardless of what the BT checker says so hopefully you'll get an agent who isn't anal and goes by the rules and has some common sense
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      bjs2007uk's Avatar
      bjs2007uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Check my stats please!!!???

      Well to be honest I am fed up with Sky's customer service as its awful. I am not taring everyone with the same brush that works for Sky but I haven't had a good impression of them. Think I will stick to e-mails.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION