Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38

    losing connection

    This is a discussion on losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Ever since moving from AOL to SKY earlier this month I've been having connection problems similiar to a few ...

    1. #1
      Molyvos's Avatar
      Molyvos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      losing connection

      Hi,

      Ever since moving from AOL to SKY earlier this month I've been having connection problems similiar to a few others on here i.e. the connection is fine for a while and then is lost, requiring ither a router or computer reboot to get it back.

      Having read a few threads, I've downloaded Mossywell's Bounce and produced the detailed stats below.

      Other info: I'm using the standard Netgear wireless router as supplied by Sky, which is connected into the main BT socket. I've disabled the upnp setting, I'm using the wireless network and I believe my maximum download speed is just 1.5MB.

      Any help/advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1472 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.6 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 1632 704
      Rate (Kbps): 1472 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 47(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 16
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 47 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.3333 17.0666
      L: 384 120
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 19817 19815
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 336898 84213
      RSCorr: 918 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1171695 0
      Data Cells: 46778 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 559 0
      SES: 507 0
      UAS: 58 0
      Total time = 22 min 35 sec
      SF = 74977
      CRC = 29255
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 559
      Latest 1 day time = 22 min 35 sec
      SF = 74977
      CRC = 29255
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 559
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 35 sec
      SF = 25228
      CRC = 5391
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 89
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49749
      CRC = 23864
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 470
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      You have an extremely low SNR according to those figures, do you know how far you are from your exchange?

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      do you know if your master socket is a NTE5 ? (will have a split across the front)
      if it is could do a comparrison from the test socket behind the face plate

    5. #4
      Molyvos's Avatar
      Molyvos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      Thanks for replies.

      Think we're over 2.5 miles from the exchange, hence the maximum speed of only 1.5Mb (so I'm told).

      Face plate does have a line across. Could you please explain the difference (in laymans terms) bewtten plugging the router into this and removing it and plugging into the socket underneath?

      I should add that I have previously downloaded something called a TCP Optimser to try and resolve my connection problem. This recommended changing the MTU from 1300 to 1500, which I did, but it obviously didn't make any difference. I've also tried using different channels under the "g & b" router wireless settings, again without making any difference.

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      the test socket behind is a direct feed from the BT linre that comes into your house.
      when plugged into this none of your house extentions (if you had any) will interfere with the signal (some internal wiwring acts like a radio picking up signals on the line, sometimes this extra noise can cause the sky router problems in detecting the correct signal and you get CRC errors)

      with your line lenth you are syncing at the max you will get and we just need to find a way to get rid of any errors to solve your disconection problem

      i was hoping that when you tried your test socket the SNR may improve


      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49749
      CRC = 23864
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 470

      the above CRC errors are at nearly 50% so half the data is having to be re sent and this will slow the connection (and will sometime cause a disconect)
      Last edited by richone54; 24-11-07 at 03:05 PM.

    7. #6
      Molyvos's Avatar
      Molyvos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      Thanks again.

      I'm now plugged in directly to the socket behind the face plate, and these are the new stats:

      usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2048 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.6 10.5
      Max(Kbps): 2496 768
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 65(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 65 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2424 17.0666
      L: 528 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 13642 13640
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 463840 57970
      RSCorr: 151 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1122073 0
      Data Cells: 15127 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 55 0
      Total time = 5 min 8 sec
      SF = 13642
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 8 sec
      SF = 13642
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 8 sec
      SF = 13642
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Are they a big improvement? I note the download speed has reached 2048kb!?

    8. #7
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: losing connection

      ^^^ Your noise margin (SNR) has increased from 6.6 to 8.4 and your sync speed has now improved to the full 2Mb speed that base allows.

      This indicates that telephone extension wiring is probably causing noise on your line. On the back of the faceplate which you have removed, check if a wire (ususally orange/white) is connected to terminal 3. If so, remove it and your problem may be solved. That wire is not required when you use ADSL filters.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Molyvos View Post
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.6 10.5
      Max(Kbps): 2496 768
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 416
      Are they a big improvement? I note the download speed has reached 2048kb!?

      thats much better

      time to be fitting an ADSL nation face plates me thinks

    10. #9
      Molyvos's Avatar
      Molyvos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      Thanks once again.

      I've removed three wires from terminal three of the master socket (one red, the other two orange/white). The faceplate is now back on and these are the latest stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2048 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.6 11.8
      Max(Kbps): 2816 704
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 65(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 65 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2424 17.0666
      L: 528 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3526 3524
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 119910 14977
      RSCorr: 109 6
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 289773 0
      Data Cells: 947 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 68 0
      Total time = 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 3526
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 3526
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 3526
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1

      If I'm beginning to understand these a little, I think they may be even slightly better than when I plugged straight into the test socket? Would I still benefit from one of the ADSL faceplates?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: losing connection

      Not really, unless you find you are getting a lot of disconnections. You are receiving the maximum allowed with BASE. Only running for about 24 hrs will tell if you still have problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION