Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Is this right what Sky told me

    This is a discussion on Is this right what Sky told me within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; "fresh install of XP" Assume that it is fully updated ? Has network card got latest updates ? Know anyone ...

    1. #21
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      "fresh install of XP"
      Assume that it is fully updated ?
      Has network card got latest updates ?
      Know anyone that has a router you could try (see threads about getting password etc from sky router).
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      The problem is Sky is NOT connecting to router so come the end of the day it doesn't matter if it a Fresh install with patch or not, but it is, same with network card doesn't matter, but it has. I have tried 2 computers aswell

      No I don't know anyone else with a router I can try, however I am using the new router the black one which I believe you can not get the username and password from.

      Thanks for all your help so far
      Regards,
      Garry

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      @guysteruk
      They did explain that Sky engineers were on the problem. This has nothing to do with BT who may not even be aware of a Sky DSLAM problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Update
      I phoned at 4pm and got though

      Support put me through to the resolution dept. and we went through some things and he decided it could be the router so a new one is being sent out.

      Said there was no fault at the exchange

      Thanks to all for your help
      I will let you know what happens when I get the new router
      Regards,
      Garry

    6. #25
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Update
      Just got the so call new router, it was a v1 router
      Anyway plugged it all up and it didn't work

      So I phoned up to cancel and now waiting for a tech to call me back within the next 45 minutes
      Regards,
      Garry

    7. #26
      jofes2000's Avatar
      jofes2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Garry

      Does your not connect at all?

      I was supposed to be connected on the 26th Nov, also didn't recieve a letter. Didn't get connected until a few days ago and although I have managed to connect a few times it doesn't stay connected and I can't browse.

      I'm going to try and few things people have suggested tonight but I migrated from another ISP where everything worked perfectly so can't see what the issue is. Very annoying.

    8. #27
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Quote Originally Posted by zc1 View Post
      Hi,

      Update
      Just got the so call new router, it was a v1 router
      Anyway plugged it all up and it didn't work

      So I phoned up to cancel and now waiting for a tech to call me back within the next 45 minutes
      have you been able to access either router through the 192.168.0.1 page, if not, then its your computer not the router....

    9. #28
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Quote Originally Posted by zc1 View Post
      Hi,

      Update
      Just got the so call new router, it was a v1 router
      Anyway plugged it all up and it didn't work

      So I phoned up to cancel and now waiting for a tech to call me back within the next 45 minutes
      that'll never happen unless that was CST saying it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #29
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      I never got connection at all
      Yes I was able to access the router admin area

      I never got that call back at 2.30pm so at around 4pm I called up to cancel, so I have now cancelled Sky Broadband, Sky Talk and Sky Line Rental.

      Now got to write to somewhere to get my 30 activation fee back, which I don't think I should do, but they say I have to.

      Also asked about Routers and was told I be told when I get the reply from the letter I have to send

      Going to stay with my 4mb cable conenction with Virgin Media

      I am very disappointed with Sky.

      Thank you all for your help

      Will try and let you know if I have any problems getting my 30 back
      Last edited by zc1; 06-12-07 at 07:17 PM.
      Regards,
      Garry

    11. #30
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Now have to try and get a refund on the Homeplugs I bought
      Regards,
      Garry

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION