Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Is this right what Sky told me

    This is a discussion on Is this right what Sky told me within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; seems like your router is trying and failing to connect, i would phone sky to check and see if there ...

    1. #11
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      seems like your router is trying and failing to connect, i would phone sky to check and see if there are any problems (but going by what is advised in previous posts it may be that BT have not yet "plugged" you in and could tke until monday)

      i would still phone and see


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      i would phone sky to check and see if there are any problems
      Will try and phone them later today or tomorrow.

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      (but going by what is advised in previous posts it may be that BT have not yet "plugged" you in and could tke until monday)
      Maybe this why Sky said it can take and extra 3 days.

      Thanks for all your help so far
      Regards,
      Garry

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Sky must have changed their policy about not sending out routers to Connect customers until the connection is complete. About time too

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      To right it is about time, it is just a shame that has take them over a year to change this as loads of us have been messed around by this.

    6. #15
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Update
      Just got off the phone from Sky and they say it most likely a fault at the exchange and will take upto 48hrs to fix then they will phone me back.

      Do you think I should be asking for compensation, as I presume they would of started billing me from Friday when the line was made activated and it now looks like it going to be a few days before I can use it
      Regards,
      Garry

    7. #16
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      I would give it a go because if you don't ask you don't get. I would ask them when they are going to start billing you from first.

    8. #17
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      Well 48hrs have come and gone and still no internet and no call back

      Tried 6 times now to phone them since 9.30am and they keep telling me computers are down and try again in an hour.
      Last edited by zc1; 28-11-07 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Make that 6 times now
      Regards,
      Garry

    9. #18
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Just a couple of ideas,
      With sky plugged in and `network connections` window open (start/ control panel/ network connections), is PC using SKY connection or does it still think it`s the NTL one ?
      Try `repairing` connection, try rebooting router (unpug mains put pin in hole on back of router and whilst holding plug back in , cant remember how long you need to hold though but give it a few seconds or so and let go of pin). Give router time to settle down, check that you have the internet light ether/ and or wireless lights on. Goto router control page
      check status and connection . Other things, shut down PC connect router by ethernet cable, reboot PC. as others have said try different filter and maybe a different router to phone socket cable.
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    10. #19
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      Hi,

      The problem is Sky router is not connecting to Sky or the internet the internet light on the router is either off or flashing orange, but never been green.

      I have tried all 3 filters that came with the router and it makes no different

      I have also tried resetting the router, by using the reset button on the back of the router and have also tried turning it off for 5mins and also rebooting it

      Also the Sky broadbane is setup on a fresh install of XP that NTL never been on, nor has any other ISP
      Regards,
      Garry

    11. #20
      guysteruk's Avatar
      guysteruk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this right what Sky told me

      hi folks i turned on pc this afternoon about 12pm to check emails and connection wasnt working i tryed resetting the modem by turning it off and rebooting pc still not working i phoned sky tech support to ask for advice and was told the bt exchange in my area has an outage and sky engineers are working on the problem. i left the unplugged the modem for 30 minutes then called bt and asked them how long it would take for the problem to be resolved and according to bt there is no outage in my area!!!. i then turned modem back on about 145pm and my sky broadband came back to life !!!!. can someone tell me what the hell is going on with sky these days first they change the email settings and now this kinda stuff happening

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION