Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

    This is a discussion on Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Wasn't sure what to post this, so if it in the wrong place please can a mod move it. ...

    1. #1
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Hi,

      Wasn't sure what to post this, so if it in the wrong place please can a mod move it.

      Can BT/Sky Talk (as I pay line rental to Sky now) do anything about a crackly line on the voice side am I not sure if it will after my Sky broadband as I am waiting for it to get connected, should be sometime today I been told.
      Regards,
      Garry


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Crackles / noise on your voice side of the line is a bt problem regardless of who you pay your line rental to. If it were me i'd get onto bt asap before you change to sky for your line rental just incase this complicates things - even tho it shouldn't.


    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      You can either phone bt up or report it via this link and they will do a line test and get back to you. Remember though that if the fault is in your house and could be fixed by you they might charge you.

      That link is:

      BT.com | Personal | Your account

    5. #4
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Hi,

      I just used the link that Alan b gave and put in my phone number and it says:

      There is no BT service recorded against this number. It may be possible that another company provides the service, in which case you will have to contact that service provider to report the problem.

      So I will be calling Sky in the morning as I know Sky Talk was activated on the 13th November 2007, so I take it Sky are now in charge of the line, also my sky boardband should be activate today by midnight I been told.
      Regards,
      Garry

    6. #5
      unity's Avatar
      unity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wigan
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      I would plug your phone into the test socket first, just to check if the noise is inside or outside the house. If it is noisy in the test socket with all extentions disconnected, then report it, you should not be charged

    7. #6
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Hi,

      I will do the test socket first before I call.
      Haven't got any extentions.

      Thanks for all your help so far , will let you all know how tomorrow go
      Last edited by zc1; 23-11-07 at 10:04 PM.
      Regards,
      Garry

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      it would seem you're a customer with line rental paid to Sky - not seen many about as yet...

      I'd say that Sky are your port of call, obviously make sure you talk to Sky Talk first but I think technical support for BB also take the calls for this too - although all they can do is report the fault to BT to get resolved...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Hi,

      Update:
      I tested the test socket and it was the same.
      When I remove the master socket to get to the test socket. It seems the master socket plugs straight into the test socket anyway.

      Phoned Sky up and they said they would do a line test and called me back, so they call me back and said line test ok,but he went on said there could still be a fault and went on to put it on the BT system as a fault, and went on to say about the charges I may get charged if the fault is with my phone etc...

      Said I may get an engineer come out on Monday.
      Regards,
      Garry

    10. #9
      zc1's Avatar
      zc1
      zc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Net: 10mb cable Virgin Media. TV: Sky+ and Sky m/room
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ and M/Room
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Lincoln
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      Hi,

      Further Update
      The line seem to have good noise free at the moment, so have cancelled engineer and will keep a close eye on it.

      Thanks for all your help
      Last edited by zc1; 24-11-07 at 12:28 PM.
      Regards,
      Garry

    11. #10
      stealth's Avatar
      stealth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Crackly line can BT/Sky Talk do anything

      I had the same problem with a crackly line and BT states that if the problem is at your end then they WILL charge you. You can easily check if it's a BT problem by unplugging ALL non BT equipment from your line, router, filters etc and then checking your line quality. Then you can safely call out a BT engineer/ My problem was a damaged wire coming into the house and was easily fixed so it's all good now. good luck
      ST34LTH

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION