Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Should I be going faster?

    This is a discussion on Should I be going faster? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all. I finally got connected yesterday evening and i'm wondering whether my speeds should be quicker. When I initially ...

    1. #1
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I be going faster?

      Hello all.

      I finally got connected yesterday evening and i'm wondering whether my speeds should be quicker. When I initially ordered I was told I could expect 8.1mb+ and my details from my router as as follows:


      Can anyone tell me if something seems wrong, or if this is normal? Samknows.com has me down as 3.00km from my exchange (straight-line).

      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi whitedot

      The distance will be a huge factor in your speed and your distance
      will be a lot more than that as the wires tend to go all over the place from the exchange.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks, aye, thought as much. I was just confused by all these mentions of SNR tweaks etc - what's that all about? And would it help me?

      If i'm limited to this i'm relatively happy still, costing less than before and is 2-3 times faster.

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thats quite a good speed for that distance, does it seem to be stable enough?

    6. #5
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      It seems iffy at times - do I have to get Sky to cap it at 3meg or something?

    7. #6
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I would keep an eye on it if the iffyness continues then I would possibly phone and get them to cap it about 3mb see if that sorted it. the line attenuation at 51,5 is about as high as you want to go realy.

    8. #7
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for your help.

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Dot at that attenuation that is good, but it may be worth trying the test socket inside the master socket if you have one. It lowered my attenuation and raised my speed. If your wiring is good it may do nothing.

    10. #9
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I can't really do anything with my wiring; the line comes from my main socket and comes around the house to my bedroom (for the Sky box and my broadband). I'm stuck with it as it is.

    11. #10
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Oh well, if you are happy with what you have then I shouldn't worry.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION