Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

    This is a discussion on Cannot access internet via SkyBB. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Every time I try I get the same message: Internet Explorer cannot display the web page. When I click on ...

    1. #1
      Lizzy_Rock's Avatar
      Lizzy_Rock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      Every time I try I get the same message: Internet Explorer cannot display the web page.

      When I click on Diagnose Connection Problems I get the following pop up:

      **********************
      Network Diagnostics for Windows XP

      Windows cannot connect to the internet using HTTP, HTTPS or FTP. This is probably caused by firewall settings on this computer.

      Check the firewall settings for the HTTP port (80). HTTPS port (443) and FTP port (21).

      You might need to contact your internet service provider (ISP) or the manufacturer of your firewall software.
      **************************

      The Diagnostics log gives me this:

      ****************
      HTTP, HTTPS, FTP connectivity

      warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to www.microsoft.com: A connection with the server could not be established
      info FTP (Passive): Successfully connected to ftp.microsoft.com.
      warn HTTP: Error 12029 connecting to Sign In A connection with the server could not be established
      warn HTTPS: Error 12037 connecting to www.passport.net: The date in the certificate is invalid or has expired
      info HTTPS: Successfully connected to Microsoft Corporation.
      error Could not make an HTTP connection.

      *********************

      The only way I can access the internet is by using Firefox.

      Have any other SKY BB users experienced this problem?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      If FF is working then something is stopping IE from connecting. Have you checked your connection settings in IE for previous settings, also have you got a firewall installed?

    4. #3
      Lizzy_Rock's Avatar
      Lizzy_Rock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      This only started yesterday. I've not had any problems with IE until then. How do I check my connection settings in IE for previous settings? I have McAfee firewall as part of the McAfee Security Centre. Windows firewall is switched off.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      Disable Mcafee and try again, in IE check in Tools, Internet Options, Connections tab.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      Go to Tools>Internet options>Connections>LAN Settings and check that none of the boxes are ticked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Lizzy_Rock's Avatar
      Lizzy_Rock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Cannot access internet via SkyBB.

      I resolved the problem by uninstalling then reinstalling IE7, just took me a while to do. Thanks for the advice, something I'll keep in mind should things go wrong again.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION