Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    is the installation cd required?

    This is a discussion on is the installation cd required? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All. Just received my nice black netgear router today - although cant set it up as not even been ...

    1. #1
      nosense's Avatar
      nosense is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      is the installation cd required?

      Hi All.

      Just received my nice black netgear router today - although cant set it up as not even been given activation date yet.

      Two questions -1) I've browsed the cd and cant find any reason why its needed if you dont want to install the McAfee(which I dont). Is there anything on it that really is needed?

      2) It has two yellow ethernet ports, a blue one and a green one. Instructions say plug PC in to one of the yellow only- are the others usable? if not what are they for?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: is the installation cd required?

      Hi

      Welcome aboard.

      1) Use as a coaster

      2) Use any of them, I have today and they all work

      Obviously a change of tactic after Sky produced the manual.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: is the installation cd required?

      As far as I am aware the blue one is most likely where the filter goes into and you need to plug in an ethernet cable going from your PCs ethernet port into one of the yellow ones on your router.

      However, you can connect up as many PCs via ethernet as the router supports (number of ethernet ports on the back is this indication).

    5. #4
      nosense's Avatar
      nosense is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is the installation cd required?

      Anyone want a 49.99 (PC) / 199.99 (Mac) coaster? A1condition - unused yours for 10 (plus P+P)

    6. #5
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is the installation cd required?

      The ethernet ports are all the same just different colour codes just future proof for upto 1gig I believe

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: is the installation cd required?

      Apparently, there were only going to be 2 ethernet ports, but this was changed after the manual was printed. Unconfirmed.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION