Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

    This is a discussion on New problems with previously working Sky BB Max... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, Been having some problems with my Sky Broadband connection, with Netgear DG834GT router. Basically, the connection's been working ...

    1. #1
      schmojo's Avatar
      schmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      Hi guys,

      Been having some problems with my Sky Broadband connection, with Netgear DG834GT router. Basically, the connection's been working great for the last 3 months, good speeds, no technical problems with the line.

      However, over the course of the last week, the router spends most of it's time giving me 'LCP down', and 'LCP is allowed to come up' messages. But nothing has been physically changed with the setup that has worked perfectly thus far.

      I can actually get online every few minutes, for anywhere between a minute, and 10 minutes in some cases, with good download speeds, but it never stays connected to the internet long.

      So; the line used to work fine, and still does periodically connect me for anywhere up to 10 minutes, but isn't right, can you guys help?

      p.s. i've also tried plugging into the master socket, with no difference. I also upgraded the firmware to the latest retail Netgear version, but the issue remains the same.

      Here are my router stats, courtesy of mognuts:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 136 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11111 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 6.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 12.8
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13572 204
      Rate (Kbps): 11111 136
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 5
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 86 70
      B: 242 4
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.6969 15.0588
      L: 2927 51
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 51807 48774
      SFErr: 372 110
      RS: 4766256 219728
      RSCorr: 10318 344
      RSUnCorr: 14369 0

      HEC: 355 121
      OCD: 31 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 21729926 777180
      Data Cells: 10485 3307
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 24178 78
      SES: 1349 0
      UAS: 7833 27
      AS: 831

      INP: 1.04 5.01
      PER: 16.03 17.88
      delay: 11.15 15.05
      OR: 45.91 34.00

      Bitswap: 106 20

      Total time = 20 hours 40 min 36 sec
      SF = 3888966
      CRC = 277890
      LOS = 582
      LOF = 1576
      ES = 24178
      Latest 1 day time = 20 hours 40 min 36 sec
      SF = 3888966
      CRC = 277890
      LOS = 582
      LOF = 1576
      ES = 24178
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 36 sec
      SF = 39670
      CRC = 274
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 146
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50907
      CRC = 2114
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 18
      ES = 288
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 48208
      CRC = 2306
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 7
      ES = 227
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 48426
      CRC = 4219
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 25
      ES = 297
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50902
      CRC = 1802
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 12
      ES = 290
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      You have a massive amount of line/CRC errors occuring, first thing would be to remove the face plate of your BT master socket and plug your router direct into the hidden test socket, if problems persist you have a faulty line or router, if the problem clears then you may have something internal on your extesion wiring etc causing a problem.

    4. #3
      schmojo's Avatar
      schmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      I've already tried that on, I'm afraid, same result.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      do you hear noise on the line when making phone calls

      have you tried different filters

      have you tried with just the bb conected (no phones / sky / fax)

      what results did you get from the master socket ?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      I looks like something is generating noise on your phone line. Unfortunately, it could be just about anything. Very soon there is going to be a spate of complaints, it always happens at this time of the year, when the Xmas lights are switched on! You best hope is that your line has developed a fault, due to water, ground movement or just old age.

      Try doing a quiet line test from your Test socket. To do this, Dial 17070, select option 2 (quiet line test). It should be dead quiet, no pops fizzes or clicks. If there is any noise at all, phone BT and report you have noise on your line, keep your fingers crossed that they find a fault.

      Don't mention Sky Broadband, if you do, you will probably get no help
      Last edited by Isitme; 19-11-07 at 10:04 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      schmojo's Avatar
      schmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headingley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      Ah, I'm a massive fool who never uses his house phone and didn't think to check.

      Listening on the line, there is massive amounts of noise, interspersed with quiet periods, which I assume match up with when I can connect.

      So I'll have to call BT? How long can these things take to fix?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New problems with previously working Sky BB Max...

      That's good news, the noise on the line I mean, not the fool bit

      It will depend on what the fault is and how long it takes to find it. With luck it may be quite simple and can be fixed very quickly, if it is a damaged underground cable it could take a good bit longer. The unfortunate thing with BT is that several engineers could be involved and passing a fault from one to another can take some time. You just have to be patient and hope for the best.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION