Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello guys. I live in norwich and recently saw an advert for sky see speak surf. As we had just ...

    1. #1
      Afty's Avatar
      Afty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Hello guys.

      I live in norwich and recently saw an advert for sky see speak surf.

      As we had just bought our place i thought it was a good opportunity and went ahead and ordered it. Things were fine no problems at all with the TV or the Phone. Broadband however, we are outside of sky coverage and therefore have to get connect. No biggy, its a bit more expensive but thats ok.

      I understand that Connect is "up to 8mb" and i am only 1.4 miles from the exchange. The speed coming through my router today is approx 15Kbps. With my router connecting at a whopping 448kbps (down).

      It wasn't this bad until recently, i have even had a ticket opened (and now closed) with sky about my line speed before. The final resolution to the ticket was that the BT line can only support 1.4Mbps so that will be the max i can get on ANY package. Great, didnt tell me that before i signed for a year did they.

      Over the last 2 weeks i have seen my line degrade from 1.38Mbps ish Down (according to speedtest.net - pinging the maidenhead Pyramid) to 0.4Mbps.

      ------------------------------------------------------------

      I have run through all the sky trouble shooting stuff twice;

      My Pc is clean of virus' and spyware.
      Its connected directly to the router with an ethernet cable.
      My Microfilter is connected to a phone socket ~1m from the master socket. (and plugging into the master socket directly has no determinable effect on the problem).
      I am running a length of phone extension cable to my pc as the master socket and only other working socket are by the frontdoor and thats no good for a PC!
      I've changed microfilters.

      ------------------------------------------------------------

      The recent drop in speed with no change in my own configuration leads me to believe that the problem is not on my end. However i'm not a networking or connectivity bod and maybe it is.

      Router Stats. - Ty Mosseywell

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 448 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 13.1 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 544 816
      Rate (Kbps): 448 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 15(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 2 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 15 15
      M: 8 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 9.0000 9.0000
      L: 128 128
      D: 2 2
      Counters
      SF: 16231 16229
      SFErr: 1 0
      RS: 137968 137946
      RSCorr: 13579 0
      RSUnCorr: 2 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 291719 0
      Data Cells: 15266 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 31 0
      Total time = 5 min 15 sec
      SF = 16231
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 15 sec
      SF = 16231
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 15 sec
      SF = 16231
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Where should i go from here?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Hi 15.5 in your line attenuation means you have a common bug. Reboot the router and you should see an improvement

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Is a known bug, try rebooting the router and then, measuring again?

      Rate (Kbps): 448 448
      Don't look too good.

      You really would be better trying the test socket, and then posting your stats. Yes I know it's a pain but would rule out internal wiring.

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      Hi 15.5 in your line attenuation means you have a common bug. Reboot the router and you should see an improvement
      doh, beaten by the faster typer.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      lol, had i had known it was you newsreader i would have typed slower

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      If I had of known it was you I would have baked a cake




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Afty's Avatar
      Afty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Thanks for the fast replies guys, i will try humping my pc over the mastersocket tomorrow and testing from there, now im too tired !

      Rebooted Router Stats (same wiring/pc setup)

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 576 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.8 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 14.0 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 672 816
      Rate (Kbps): 576 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 19(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 2 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 19 15
      M: 8 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 8.8000 9.0000
      L: 160 128
      D: 2 2
      Counters
      SF: 822 820
      SFErr: 234 0
      RS: 6994 6970
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 1998 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 0 0
      Data Cells: 0 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 0
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 42 0
      Total time = 1 min 11 sec
      SF = 822
      CRC = 234
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 11 sec
      SF = 822
      CRC = 234
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 11 sec
      SF = 822
      CRC = 234
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    9. #8
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Any cance of a xmas cake lol, infused with Jack Daniels of course

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      The 15.5 is the culprit. Try leaving your router off overnight if you are going to bed now. Unless you want to sing songs or summit, as my friend Stella has kicked in now.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Connect - Norwich - Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      Any cance of a xmas cake lol, infused with Jack Daniels of course
      No chance, you gonna get me told off by a moderator for being OT.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION