Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare?

    This is a discussion on Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I don't think Sky are deliberately trying to make access to the site difficult. The "HTTP Error 500 - Internal ...

    1. #11
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't conntect to Rapidshare?

      I don't think Sky are deliberately trying to make access to the site difficult.

      The "HTTP Error 500 - Internal server error" is exactly what it says it is - a server error, i.e., a problem with the rapidshare server itself and nothing to do with Sky.

      But separately from that problem there does seem to be an issue with Sky here. In order to allow its customers to access servers across the world, Sky has "peering" arrangements with other Internet companies. Those peers in turn have other peering arrangements with further Internet companies, and so hopefully, you should have some kind of route to every Internet server in the world. But the route that your connection to a specific Internet server will take is dependent on which peers Sky works with, so if you are on a different ISP, communication may take a completely different router compared with the route that you'd take if you're on Sky.

      Unfortunately, the peer that Sky uses to enable access to rapidshare seems to be somewhat less than 100% reliable, so sometimes you see a situation where the rapidshare servers are working and available to some people in the UK, but not people on Sky Broadband. This is also why using a external proxy server can sometimes help.

      Someone ought to tell Sky about this, so they can take it up with the peer in question.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Alixman984's Avatar
      Alixman984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't conntect to Rapidshare?

      RS is down again!
      called Sky to tell them by they don't accept its from their side... its anoying

    4. #13
      Keef's Avatar
      Keef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't conntect to Rapidshare?

      Yes, down for me again as well

    5. #14
      davvy76's Avatar
      davvy76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't conntect to Rapidshare?

      Bizarre as it may sound try inputting https instead of http in the link next time it goes down. I seem to recall it working in the past but cant try at the moment because both https://www.rapidshare.com/ and RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting are working fine here.
      Last edited by davvy76; 19-11-07 at 09:20 PM.

    6. #15
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare?

      Weird, can't get to the site using RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting or just rapidshare.com with either IE or Firefox but, and I'm not plugging it, Browzar gets there instantly. Maybe it's a caching issue?
      Last edited by greyrider; 20-11-07 at 11:34 AM. Reason: spelling

    7. #16
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare?

      working fine on my JANET connection!

    8. #17
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare?

      working fine on my JNET connection!

    9. #18
      caveman1200's Avatar
      caveman1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just asking if anyone else can't connect to Rapidshare?

      i am sure i has a fix for the RS problem

      1. see if you can get on the rapidshare website with this address
      ssl.rapidshare.com
      i was able to when rs seemed to be down for me
      to make the swich perminant you need to put an entry in you host file
      ssl.rapidshare.com resolves to 80.239.151.250
      go to
      c:windows/system32/drivers/etc
      ok load notepad and drag the file "hosts" into notepad
      add an entry on the line under

      127.0.0.1 localhost
      80.239.151.250 rapidshare.com

      it should look like the obove
      save the file and restart you connection then see if you can connect to rs via rapidshare.com which should now be going to 80.239.151.250 and should work.
      worked for me sry about grammer :P

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION