Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 39

    Slow speeds due to NO MASTER SOCKET??!!

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds due to NO MASTER SOCKET??!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by john5197 What just made me think though Wheelie was GhettoSkater mentions testing his modem/router, if he has ...

    1. #11
      GhettoSkater's Avatar
      GhettoSkater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by john5197 View Post
      What just made me think though Wheelie was GhettoSkater mentions testing his modem/router, if he has no sockets, what did he plug it into, and if he has sockets, one must be a Master....
      I have 4 sockets total in my house, 2 which were there originally.

      The one in my living room and the one in my parents room are both wired to the "dodgy box" which has no socket whatso ever. The "box" is also in my parents room but is nowhere near the phone socket in that room (it is conneted by wire on the other side of the room). That leads me to think that these are just extentions of the "dodgy box"

      the other 2 sockets are as follows:

      the kitchen socket is an extention of the living room socket,
      and the back room socket is an extention of the kitchen (this was done by ntl i think).
      The router is connected to the back room extention.

      I have tried all sockets in the house and they all give me the same stats.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Usually wha tis classed as the master socket is the one that is directly connected to the BT wiring where it enters the house. Not sure if that is any help though.

    4. #13
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Hi Hugsie/Ghettoskater

      Hugsie is quite correct, you may need to trace the wire from outside, to where it it is connected in the house, if it is 'the dodgy looking box', there well may be a wire coming from that, and as Hugsie rightly says the socket that is connected to is usually the Master, if you want to look inside the sockets feel free, but don't disconnect any wiring whatever you do, the master socket will have a printed circuit board, with a resistor and a capacitor on it, and possibly a lightning protection device, extension sockets do not have any of that they are 'just a socket' with wiring connected...that why BT let the public connect their own socket, and will not normally ' sell' a customer a main socket, although having said that I feel sure I have seen Main Sockets for sale in B&Q, but I may be mistaken

    5. #14
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      I replaced my main socket with a nice new brushed aluminium one (was a main socket type with all the printed circuit board inside) from B&Q a few years ago to match all the power sockets.

      Not sure if you're allowed to replace it, but still got the old white one which I could easily put back on if I did ever need to call BT out for any problems.

    6. #15
      GhettoSkater's Avatar
      GhettoSkater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here are some pics i took, as i said i would.

      1. This is where the bt line comes in from the telegraph pole.


      2.outside of the wall where it enters the house.


      3.dodgy box


      4.dodgy box 2


      what do you guys think?

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Looks like a real mess to me and if thats where the line comes in then BT really will need to do something about it.

      Well thats my onion anyway
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      OMG that wiring is a joke who done that ?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #18
      GhettoSkater's Avatar
      GhettoSkater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      exactly my point of this thread LOL

      this is how the house was wired when my parents bought it, and when we had NTL the engineer they sent out just made it worse. now we just have some cut cables on the outside wall.

      when we returned to bt the engeneer was shocked at the job ntl had done, but he musta missed the "dodgy box also

    10. #19
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Hi once again, the wiring you have is quite modern, you obviously share the bracket outside your house possibly with your next door neighbour, the black wire down the wall from the wall bracket is your exchange line, the white wire coming out of the dodgy box is an internal wire going usually to the Master Socket, but what I need to ask is, do you have an extension outside the house, or have they now laid on a direct underground exchange line to your house from the street?, the black wire with the black/green/white and orange wire is an underground cable, normally used to feed directly from the exchange, or to an external extension, it may be the overhead wire is redundant, but I would suggest that the external wire from the pole was installed with the last 10/12 years. hope that helps.....a little....

    11. #20
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      well if you get BT there prob charge yer if they see that, even though you didnt do it phone BT and explain the situation
      "To help would be a great adventure"

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION