Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

    This is a discussion on Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just ordered SKYBB and online told me i'd get 8Mb. My exchange is LLU and my stats are very good. ...

    1. #1
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      Just ordered SKYBB and online told me i'd get 8Mb.
      My exchange is LLU and my stats are very good.
      Only about 1Km from exchange

      Margin [dB] downstream 7
      Attenuation [dB] downstream 25

      so i should be able to get 12-16Mb.

      How can i make sure they put me on ADSL2?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      With that attenuation you should be set up on ADSL2+ by default.

      If you're not for some reason and your line has no problems then you'll need to call Sky to get switched. If you're not put on ADSL2+ because you have line problems then you'll need to fix these before calling Sky.

    4. #3
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      why would it say 8Mb online while ordering?
      And what line problems do you mean?

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      Sky can see if errors are occuring on your line which can be caused by internal wiring of extensions etc, check the first link in Saturdays signature and this one as well.

      Cabling and faceplate help - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!


    6. #5
      plank's Avatar
      plank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      Surely ADSL 2 is only available if there is space on the LLU network at that exchange.

      Other poeple have said online that some of there LLU exchanges are over subscribed so new people have to go onto the BT network.

      D

    7. #6
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      How could you ever find this out?

    8. #7
      jqworle's Avatar
      jqworle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worle
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      If the skybroadband checker tells you you can have connect only ,then its a fair bet the exchange is full if you know that it is LLU, and this info can be found at Samknows.
      My local exchange is full for sky use at the moment so i am going on connect till it is upgraded for extra capacity which no one will tell you when exactly that is.

    9. #8
      wilt's Avatar
      wilt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      Were does it tell you on samknows?
      Done an exchange search for newtownards and can't find the info your talking about.

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Worried i'li be put on ADSL1, when i can get ADSL2.

      newtownards - cant find it on sam knows, is that spelt correctly ?
      try putting your phone no. in on this
      Samknows - Exchange search


    11. #10
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION