Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    ADSL2+ - does 10 day "line training" apply?

    This is a discussion on ADSL2+ - does 10 day "line training" apply? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone have a definitive answer to this question? We all know that there is a 10 day "line training" ...

    1. #1
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,283
      Thanks
      346
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      ADSL2+ - does 10 day "line training" apply?

      Does anyone have a definitive answer to this question?

      We all know that there is a 10 day "line training" period with ADSLMax products, but I don't know whether or not it applies to ADSL2+ products.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It is my understanding that it does not apply as you do not have a max sync to determine!

    4. #3
      whitedot's Avatar
      whitedot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Most people are saying not, but mine was up and down like a *****'s drawers last night.

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Connection instability is not necessarily anything to do with the router training though.

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site speedyrite

      No training it is rate adaptive
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      /\ You Sure...

      What is R-ADSL / rate-adaptive ADSL?

      Normal ADSL is 'typically' used where your house or office is less than 3.5km (line length) from the local exchchange.

      R-ADSL is a variant of ADSL that increases the maximum distance from your exchange by adjusting the upstream bandwidth based on the quality of the line. RADSL increases the maximum distance supported from 3.5 to around 5.5 kilometres.

      This now means that around 90% of houses or offices connected to an ADSL enabled exchange can get a broadband service.

      R-ADSL is only available on the 500Kbit/s services and due to the increased circuit length the maximum upstream / upload speed 'may' be lower than a normal ADSL circuit - typically anywhere between 57Kbit/s and 250Kbit/s. The line quality / length 'can' also affect the download speed but the effects are usually less.

      Please note that even if your house / office is less than 3.5 kilometres from the BT exchange R-ADSL may still be used if the quality of the line is lower. Lastly please remember that distances quoted are line length not just radial distance from the exchange!

    8. #7
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Sky are using ADSL2+ all of the reading I hve done indicates it has no training period. I will try and find you a Link.

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      From here:
      http://usergroup.plus.net/tiscali_faq_280706.php

      Is there an initial training period or equivalent such as that seen with BT's DSL Max? If so how does it work?
      No. The 8000kbps rate adaptive profile is assigned by Tiscali as default. This means that at every Synch event the line will adopt the highest profile available based on the quality of the line.

      I realise it is not refering to sky secifically but I will look for the other places I have read and post again.

    10. #9
      andijames's Avatar
      andijames is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      AS far as i know sky use the same LLU equipment as UKonline and they use R-ADSL (Rate Adaptive) which basically means your sync connection will adapt to your SNR margin at the time. ADSL Max uses B-RAS profiles which over a 7-10 day period determine your max stable speed and after this period locks your sync rate to this.

      If i'm mistaken then i do apologise in advance but i believe the lines can be tweaked by sky to adjust your margins to improve your rate adaption.

    11. #10
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I think this is correct, if it weren't wouldn't router stats show your max sync speed as well as current one?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION