Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    ADSL2+ - does 10 day "line training" apply?

    This is a discussion on ADSL2+ - does 10 day "line training" apply? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Author: MrSaffron One trick ADSL2 and ADSL2+ share is bonding of lines to increase speeds, though this requires renting another ...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Author: MrSaffron
      One trick ADSL2 and ADSL2+ share is bonding of lines to increase speeds, though this requires renting another copper pair. Additionally rate adaption should work a lot smoother as this can be done on the fly rather than having to drop the line to re-adapt to a new speed.
      you may want to read the rest ADSLguide
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      keith_thfc's Avatar
      keith_thfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by andijames View Post
      AS far as i know sky use the same LLU equipment as UKonline and they use R-ADSL (Rate Adaptive) which basically means your sync connection will adapt to your SNR margin at the time.
      I've been with f2s LLU (using Easynet - same as SKY) and currently with be* LLU - both times I was initially activated with a line sync speed which was too high for my line so I had frequent drops in connection.

      What happens is that the ISP takes a guess re your optimum sync speed based on your line stats but if your line quality isn't great (as with mine) then this may need to be lowered a tad.

      You don't have to wait 7-10 days to remedy this as its not the same as Max. Just call SKY as soon as you notice the connection dropping and SKY/Easynet *should* be able to increase the SNR margin to provide more stability. This 'trial and error' testing with you and the ISP might take a couple of days and then you should know for sure what your optimum sync speed *should* be.

      Hope this helps.
      Last edited by keith_thfc; 15-09-06 at 03:24 PM.
      -----------------------------------------
      Currently with be* there LLU ADSL+2 (ex AOL/f2s/Zen/Orange).

      getting 6.5 meg down/1.1 meg up

    4. #13
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hey folks just to comfirm what has already been said, sky do not use a training period its rate adaptive, and if you are finding your connection is unstable I suggest you give them a call, try nice and early so less chance of a que

      They will transfer you to tier3 who will check your line stats and usualy cap it at abotu 2mb lower and ask you test it for a few days to see if its stable.

      cheers

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for confirming that theg33k
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,287
      Thanks
      347
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Thanks everyone!

      I consider my question answered!

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good Good
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      a search would have found this Disconnects
      "To help would be a great adventure"

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION