Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 33

    losing net connection

    This is a discussion on losing net connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; From what you have written it looks like the problem is with your PC, especially if you are unable to ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      From what you have written it looks like the problem is with your PC, especially if you are unable to connect to the router during the down times. If you were running XP I would advise running the Winsock Repair Tool, but I am not sure if this will work with Vista. You could try this which will work in Vista -
      Click Start. In the Start Search dialog box, type: cmd, and right-click the cmd icon.
      1. Click Run as administrator.
      2. Type: netsh winsock reset, and then press the ENTER key.
      3. Type: Exit and press ENTER.
      4. Restart the computer
      This should hopefully reset the Winsock to a working condition.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      sorry to jump into this thread, you original stats dont look to bad.
      could you run THIS (it runs from the router and will go if router is re-booted)
      click download then back and click start, wait a few seconds the press Esc

      this program keeps a log of errors every 5 mins and may show if errors are your problem


      (sorry if this does not help)

    4. #23
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Thanks, did try this a couple of times without success in vista. The command does work, and asks for a restart .but I was restarting the pc to fix the problem anyway.
      I had about 3 disconnections yesterday, I`ve noticed they last about 3-5 minutes now if I just leave them, checking the admininstrator event log doesnt show anything at the time of disconnection. I do get this message, although this one came up 10 mins after disconnection.
      "TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed on the number of concurrent TCP connect attempts."
      btw I lose all web, ftp , router access but utorrent runs fine.

      cheers
      Paul

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      From what you have written it looks like the problem is with your PC, especially if you are unable to connect to the router during the down times. If you were running XP I would advise running the Winsock Repair Tool, but I am not sure if this will work with Vista. You could try this which will work in Vista -
      Click Start. In the Start Search dialog box, type: cmd, and right-click the cmd icon.
      1. Click Run as administrator.
      2. Type: netsh winsock reset, and then press the ENTER key.
      3. Type: Exit and press ENTER.
      4. Restart the computer
      This should hopefully reset the Winsock to a working condition.

    5. #24
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Thanks
      But I dont think this problem is router related , think its windows causing the disconnection. I cant connect to the router via ie but utorrent keeps connected.

      Paul

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      sorry to jump into this thread, you original stats dont look to bad.
      could you run THIS (it runs from the router and will go if router is re-booted)
      click download then back and click start, wait a few seconds the press Esc

      this program keeps a log of errors every 5 mins and may show if errors are your problem


      (sorry if this does not help)

    6. #25
      feedmaster's Avatar
      feedmaster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01335
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Hi all,
      Sorry for butting in but i am having exactly the same problem, and if i try to download enything this also drops the connection.
      As you are saying the only way to restore this is to restart my PC.
      I am using vista and netgear wg111v2, i can still see the signal but not connect.
      If i connect with the LAN lead all is fine.

      I am very much a novis, but this is a real pain.
      HELP...!

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      "TCP/IP has reached the security limit imposed..................
      This tells the story! XP and Vista are restricted in the number of TCP connections they can make and if you are running torrrents/P2P the chances are this is being exceeded and connections will be dropped. THIS article explains it and gives a method of curing it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      This tells the story! XP and Vista are restricted in the number of TCP connections they can make and if you are running torrrents/P2P the chances are this is being exceeded and connections will be dropped. THIS article explains it and gives a method of curing it.
      Thanks. I did try this, I set my TCP limit to 500. Still get disconnections though , any more ideas?

      Paul

    9. #28
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Just wanted to update this thread as I seem to have fixed the problem.

      I found it was a fix required for vista , you have to request it from microsoft
      and since installing it a week ago I havent had any loss of connection.
      Bare in mind it wasnt a sky or router problem, it was vista disconnecting the network that caused it.
      I was unable to even connect to the router admin panel when the disconnections happened.

      Anyway here is the fix link if anyone needs it.

      After you configure Internet Connection Sharing in Windows Vista, the network connection stops working after one-to-two hours


      Paul

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      I am a bit confused with this, why have you got ICS running, there is no need for it with a router. You did not mention your had it enabled, if you had maybe a solution could have been found sooner.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I am a bit confused with this, why have you got ICS running, there is no need for it with a router. You did not mention your had it enabled, if you had maybe a solution could have been found sooner.
      I have never touch internet connection sharing, the computer came pre-configured with vista and it was running. I did not mention it because I didnt know anything about ICS before I investigated my problem. I found this fix in a forum after searching for someone which sounded like a similar problem, tried it and it worked.
      Last edited by pr1970; 13-12-07 at 11:25 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION