Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    losing net connection

    This is a discussion on losing net connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i tried telnet on port 80 and it wouldnt connect. It works ok on port 23. thanks Paul...

    1. #11
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      i tried telnet on port 80 and it wouldnt connect. It works ok on port 23.

      thanks

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      port 80 is used fpr http access (i think) but id say do this when there is actually connection....also run a traceroute and see if it completes to a site...

      also, for reference anyone, telnet doesn't work in Vista
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      port 80 is used fpr http access (i think) but id say do this when there is actually connection....also run a traceroute and see if it completes to a site...

      also, for reference anyone, telnet doesn't work in Vista
      I manage to get the telnet going in vista, you have to activate the server/client first. I then connected to a telnet site ok with port 23 but port 80 didnt connect.

      with the traceroute, how do you run that. I found a network tools site that can run it but is this something that should be run from a command prompt?

      btw, i havent had any disconnections for a few days so cant test it fully.

      Thanks

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      tbh ive been wondering what programs people use to traceroute so im sure someone will post something up soon...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      WinMTR is one of em

      WinMTR Download
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    7. #16
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      hi again

      I had a disconnection earlier, i tried telnet and it wouldnt connect. Didnt have a chance to try traceroute. I restarted my pc and i was connected again.

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      tbh ive been wondering what programs people use to traceroute so im sure someone will post something up soon...
      Whats wrong with typing tracert and address in the Command Prompt?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      ok had a disconnection again.
      This time i tried traceroute and ping to sites and my router and nothing came back. I would get a "General Failure" message coming back in the command prompt when trying these.

      any other ideas?

      Thanks

    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Whats wrong with typing tracert and address in the Command Prompt?
      didnt know you could - cheers for that!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      pr1970's Avatar
      pr1970 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEA
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: losing net connection

      Anyone else help me with this problem, its driving me nuts!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION