Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

    This is a discussion on Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Everyone , First time poster but have been reading the forum for ages ! I have recently got Sky ...

    1. #1
      harp_s45's Avatar
      harp_s45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Hi Everyone , First time poster but have been reading the forum for ages !
      I have recently got Sky + and Surf and Talk , I have inslated the router and have been connecting to the internet fine.
      However now I have developed a problem with the phone line !

      When I pick up the phone I have 2 phone lines ! When I phone I can still hear a dial tone and eventually a please hang up the phoine message, and when I receive a call the phone rings constantly and when I answer I can hear the other person and another dial tone.

      I have a BT line and Sky Talk but I would have pressumed that SKy would have taken over as sky phone is being used now ? ? My set-up is as follows

      Main Phone terminal - Phone connected (With splitter Internet thing - that came with router) Then I have a phone line extension fitted that runs behind the TV - Connected to this is the SKy Router and Sky + box (Connected to With splitter Internet thingy)
      There is also a Cable box connected to this box but is not connected and hasn't been for a while .

      I am really baffled by this as It is causing a nightmare in my house as the phone is out of order (unless you fancy a possessed phone call !!!)

      Help with this would be greatly appreciated .

      Many Thanks
      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Moved to Broadband forum




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Do you pay line rental to BT and Sky or just one? Have you called BT or Sky about this?

    5. #4
      madcat's Avatar
      madcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      sounds like a BT fault and would advise you to contact them.

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      have you tried with the router and phone plugged into the main socket with the filter ? (not off the extension)

      sounds like you have a filter before the extention and another filter after ?


      or plug the extention into the main socket without a filter and just have the filter at the other end ?

    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Quote Originally Posted by harp_s45 View Post
      There is also a Cable box connected to this box but is not connected and hasn't been for a while
      I am not sure what you mean. If your old cable line and your BT line are sharing a socket this is likely to be the problem as they sometimes leave a dial tone on unused lines to help reconnect them later.

      Your old cable line should be physically disconnected from your BT line and terminated separately.

    8. #7
      sat.guy's Avatar
      sat.guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: sky hd, sky +
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      hear is what i think it is
      when bt have done the wiring in the exchange they have prob cros the wires so that is why you are getting that problem
      all infomation i give is advice only

      Regards
      Sat.guy


    9. #8
      displaced's Avatar
      displaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Ive just subscribed to sky for the first time and im having the same problems as the OP here.

      I originally set up my phone line through the Post Office as the line had been inactive for a while. Once it was up and running and working fine I contacted Sky for them to arrange to take over. I ordered Sky line rental and Mid broadband.

      Now since ive done that, the phone line has this strange double ring tones. If I ring the land line the phone will ring constantly when i answer you can still hear the dial tone in the background.

      does anyone know what causes this ???

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Have you checked that it is not the answer phone which is holding messages. Ring 1571 and see if you have messages waiting.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      displaced's Avatar
      displaced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Phone Line Problems ! (2 Lines when I pick up the handset !!!)

      Yes I did try that, it doesnt have the intermittent ring tone that you would get with the voicemail.

      it just has a constant dial tone and it continues through the call once someone has picked up...

      also when i dial from the landline to my mobile the call goes straight to voicemail on my mobile but then the mobile actually rings and i can answer it and hear both lines, me speaking and the voicemail women!! so there must be two lines coming in.

      could i still have the post office line and also the new sky line at the same time?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION