Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    cannot connect to sky router via wireless

    This is a discussion on cannot connect to sky router via wireless within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there My problem is this (and any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated) I have recently set ...

    1. #1
      fernando smallhands's Avatar
      fernando smallhands is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      Hi there

      My problem is this (and any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated)

      I have recently set up my sky router, however I needed a wireless adapter in order to connect my PC to it, so I brought a netgear WG111T adapter and attempted to connect it to the router after installing everything, but it will not connect. It sometimes connects for a second then nothing, just drops out, but the wireless adapter can see my router (and has around 44% signal from it) but it cannot maintain a connection.

      On the wireless adapter screen I can see it is going through the channels on the router, but not connecting, I can also, with this wireless adapter, see other peoples routers, but cannot connect to them either, the same thing happens, it may connect for second, then the connection goes "red" rather then "green" and it cycles through the channels attempting to find whatever it needs.

      My sky router works fine with my xbox 360 linked to it via ethernet cable.

      Anyone with any ideas as to help me get a wireless signal at home would be deserving of a hero award


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      Uninstall any software that came with the adaptor but keep the drivers, you may need to remove the wireless adaptor and plug it back in with the driver CD in for it to pick up the drivers again. Then try firing up the wireless connection again and see if it locks this time. Sometimes the Netgear software behaves strangely and stops the connection from fully locking to the router. If it still does not work properly with Windows controlling the device then you may need to check for interference to the signal, possibly change the wireless channel in use by logging into the router and changing it in the wireless settings.

    4. #3
      fernando smallhands's Avatar
      fernando smallhands is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      Thanks for replying

      I have had this problem with a wireless adapter I had before the netgear one, which I brought as I thought the wireless adapter I had before was the problem as it quite a cheap one, but it apparently wasnt the case, as this is two now that I cannot use

      I have tried to log into the wireless router but cannot do so, when I try to, it cannot find it, but can see it when I attempt to connect to it via the adapter

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      Have you set up the security properly. It looks like the adapter is finding the router, then failing to give the correct handshake.

      I have just noticed that you have posted this in 2 parts of the forum. You should not do this as it uses up space unnecessarily and creates confusion among correspondents.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      fernando smallhands's Avatar
      fernando smallhands is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      I am trying to get as much help as possible with this, hence the two postings

      how would I go about checking the "handshake" security settings?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: cannot connect to sky router via wireless

      Read this post which tells you how to set up for wireless.-
      Wireless Tutorial

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION