Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    UPnP and NAS

    This is a discussion on UPnP and NAS within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Greetings clever people! Excuse my ignorance of such things, but I'm about to build myself a new PC. As part ...

    1. #1
      MikeCSkyUser's Avatar
      MikeCSkyUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPnP and NAS

      Greetings clever people!

      Excuse my ignorance of such things, but I'm about to build myself a new PC. As part of this I want to set up a NAS device. Reading up about them, they appear to mostly require UPnP to be active. I presume by this they mean the router they are attached to.

      Bearing in mind the standard advice on these forums to not have UpnP running, does this mean I could be letting myself into a whole heap of problems by trying to go with a NAS?

      Input appreciated (but be gentle).

      Thanks.

      P.S. I should add that I have the mid Sky package.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      You won't need the router to have UPnP switched on to use a NAS device. Devices and PCs on your internal network are free to use UPnP between themselves, even if the router has it switched off.

    4. #3
      MikeCSkyUser's Avatar
      MikeCSkyUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      Phew! Thanks James67 - I was hoping I'd got it wrong!

    5. #4
      reech's Avatar
      reech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      Quote Originally Posted by MikeCSkyUser View Post
      Phew! Thanks James67 - I was hoping I'd got it wrong!
      I'm curious about this instruction to disable UPNP on the Sky Router; why should I be doing this, and what benefits does it give me?

    6. #5
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      There is a known bug in the Sky Router firmware that causes uPnP to drop the connection regularly. Disabling it stops that happening.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    7. #6
      MikeCSkyUser's Avatar
      MikeCSkyUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      reech, there are more informed people on here than me that can give you the full technical reason, but if you scan the forums you will find one of the biggest problems is frequent disconnections. More often than not, it appears, UPnP beng switched on is the cause of this.

      So, if you have it activated and are not having disconnection problems then you're fine. If you are then switch it off and see what happens.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      Personally, I always have UPnP switched off on the router just because I don't like the idea of programs on my PC quietly punching holes in the inherent firewall protection that network address translation (NAT) offers. If any holes are to be punched, then I'll be the one doing it, thank you very much!

    9. #8
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: UPnP and NAS

      Quote Originally Posted by MikeCSkyUser View Post
      Greetings clever people!

      Excuse my ignorance of such things, but I'm about to build myself a new PC. As part of this I want to set up a NAS device. Reading up about them, they appear to mostly require UPnP to be active. I presume by this they mean the router they are attached to.

      Bearing in mind the standard advice on these forums to not have UpnP running, does this mean I could be letting myself into a whole heap of problems by trying to go with a NAS?

      Input appreciated (but be gentle).

      Thanks.

      P.S. I should add that I have the mid Sky package.
      If I've understood you correctly, you aren't going to need to turn UPnP on on the router. In order to play Music and Video content stored on a NAS some devices use UPnP. The device can then see what is stored on the NAS and you select what you want and it plays. The UPnP on the NAS just allows compatible devices see the content.
      I've used FreeNAS which does have UPnP but its a really really basic implementation. I don't use the UPnP on the NAS, I use an Xbox with XBMC software and simply share a folder on the NAS, and point the Xbox at the folder.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION