Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Unusual Problem

    This is a discussion on Unusual Problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Had a Eu call thought tonight could only access qvc.co.uk and halifax.co.uk Now what I thought was odd was He ...

    1. #1
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unusual Problem

      Had a Eu call thought tonight could only access qvc.co.uk and halifax.co.uk

      Now what I thought was odd was

      He had a valid IP address
      Actice internet connection
      Nothing under tools internet options connections lan settings "never dial a connection was selected"
      I set his DNS servers to 212.135.1.36 and 192.168.0.1
      Eu still could only access the above 2 sites
      Eu removed Mcafee using the correct method
      Disabled windows firewall
      Still could only access the 2 sites above
      Set everything back to default, still the same problem
      Could ping google.co.uk couldnt browse it via ip or domain name
      Done netsh interface ip reset resetlog.txt rebooted pc and router still the same problem.
      Set IP address to 192.168.0.15
      SNM: 255.255.255.0
      DFG: 192.168.0.1
      DNS: 192.168.0.1
      DNS: 212.135.1.36
      Still could get on any sites apart from the two above. privacy settings where all at default, even dropped them to low and accept all cookies still the same problem.

      Anyone know what may be going on?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unusual Problem

      ^^^ Some other TP internet security/firewall software running on PC restricting access to those two sites?

      The Sky router does not appear to allow such a restriction so I cannot think of any other explanation. I would be looking for Zone Alarm or something similar configured to allow access to specified sites only.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Unusual Problem

      is it set to use a proxy? if so, remove it...

      and i always set DNS to OpenDNS - more reliable than Sky's

      also, run a traceroute and see if it completes as it should - may be an issue with the routing??
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unusual Problem

      No other firewalls installed there was Mcafee but that was removed the correct way via safe mode.
      No other proxys

      Tracert Google completed as it should have.
      Eu was saying that all this started when he changed the email settings changed it back to the way that it should have been, still the same issue although the email wouldnt have made a difference.

      So no other firewall win firewall has been disabled, no proxys nothing at all to stop access to any other sites even went in to add/remove programes and he read out everything that was in there, no other firewalls etc etc.

      I was thinking that it could be the box but more or less ruled out as the eu can browse to two websites and not the others.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unusual Problem

      I would be inclined to scan the machine with everything to hand, e.g. AV, Adaware, Spyware detector, Trojan Hunter etc.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Unusual Problem

      Just another thought on this one. Have you checked that keyword blocking in the Block Sites menu of the router is set to NEVER. Unlikely cause of the problem but worth a try?

    8. #7
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unusual Problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would be inclined to scan the machine with everything to hand, e.g. AV, Adaware, Spyware detector, Trojan Hunter etc.
      Done that, there was some spyware there rebooted pc and still same prob

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unusual Problem

      Another couple of things to try-
      1. Use OpenDNS servers
      i.e. insert 208.67.222.222 as the Primary DNS and 208.67.220.220.as the Secondary.

      2. If available use another browser, I am assuming IE7 is being used and for some reason the security in this seems to be difficult to set up at times. OPERA or FIREFOX are very good alternatives.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION