Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    First day connection on Max is slow

    This is a discussion on First day connection on Max is slow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I've only been connected today on Sky Max. Before this I was a Bulldog user on their 8Mb service ...

    1. #1
      rich2010's Avatar
      rich2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question First day connection on Max is slow

      Hi

      I've only been connected today on Sky Max. Before this I was a Bulldog user on their 8Mb service and regularly get 6/7Mb download on their service.

      The problem today is that the router is saying my connection speed is under 1MB and as you can imagine the download speeds are atrocious!

      I have called Sky BB support and they have told me to wait 3 days for the activation to complete. However, I'm not 100% convinced this is true. Did everyone else have to wait a further few days for their connections to go full speed ?.

      I must point out that I'm not expecting 16MB download speeds but 1.6Mb is ridiculous. My exchange is obviously Sky/Easynet LLU enabled.

      Some more info : I'm using their supplied ADSL filter and am plugged ito the master socket. The router has not had any firmware upgrade and is as is out of the box.

      My stats from

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1600 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.1 11.0
      Attn(dB): 56.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 16.5 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1760 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 1600 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 51(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 51 25
      M: 4 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.3076 8.6153
      L: 416 208
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 18053 18051
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 306904 153433
      RSCorr: 69993 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1158624 0
      Data Cells: 144072 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 29 0
      Total time = 5 min 46 sec
      SF = 18053
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 5 min 46 sec
      SF = 18053
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 46 sec
      SF = 18053
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Any thoughts ?

      Thanks

      Rich


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      have a look at the second link in my sig (not sure with your Attenuation figure you will get more than about 6meg)
      where have you connected the router, is it in an extention ?

    4. #3
      rich2010's Avatar
      rich2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      Thanks, according to Samknows I am approximately 2.08km from the exchange (straight line distance).

      Originally the router was connected to an extensions but I've already plugged it directly into the master socket by the front door but this is now the speed I'm getting unfortunately.

      Is there anything else I can check ?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      Your line does not look like it has been capped, but you have not been running long enough for your stats to show anything. You really need to run for 24 hours then take the stats. I don't like to say it, but if you are concerned with speed at all, you may have made a mistake leaving Bulldog, especially if you were getting 6/7Mb with them. With your Attenuation, even if you line is perfect, which is unlikely, the most you will get is 4/5Mb. If you do not really need the unlimited download, you would be better to ask now to be dropped to Mid, as you will be paying an extra 5 for nothing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      if the master socket has 2 screw at the front, then undo them and you should see another socket behind, this is the the BT test socket, plug into this, do a reboot of the router and post back with stats
      (this may help increase your SNR)

      once you have posted back we can see if any improvement and move on from there

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      if the master socket has 2 screw at the front,
      It must also have a 'split' line across the face.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It must also have a 'split' line across the face.
      Whoops

      yes it will have a bottom half that comes away

    9. #8
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      you are NOT ON MAX (in the sense that you are not connected to skys adsl2+) so you aint gona get the 16mb connection, your router stats confirm that. with your attenuation your looking at 4 to 5meg. also your stats show you may have a noise problem (low snr, yours is 6.1 problems can start at 6.9 and lower)

    10. #9
      rich2010's Avatar
      rich2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      Thanks for all the replies. Some extra info / questions :

      1) So if I'm not on Max and not ADSL2+, what does the Sky LLU denote for the exchange - does this not mean that ADSL2+ is available on that exchange ? - how can I tell ?

      2) I found out last night that I haven't actually got a master socket. From the BT line on the outside it goes through the outside wall near the door into a small brown junction type box inside the porch - not had a closer look yet - this then leads off into a long extension which the router is connected to. We have only just moved into the house. Would it be worth converting that junction box into an XTE-2005 socket and if so, is it just a case of taking the wires from the junction box into that?

      Thanks again

    11. #10
      scoop's Avatar
      scoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEBDT
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: DGND3700 V2
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Above an off Licence!!
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: First day connection on Max is slow

      Quote Originally Posted by rich2010 View Post
      Thanks for all the replies. Some extra info / questions :

      1) So if I'm not on Max and not ADSL2+, what does the Sky LLU denote for the exchange - does this not mean that ADSL2+ is available on that exchange ? - how can I tell ?

      2) I found out last night that I haven't actually got a master socket. From the BT line on the outside it goes through the outside wall near the door into a small brown junction type box inside the porch - not had a closer look yet - this then leads off into a long extension which the router is connected to. We have only just moved into the house. Would it be worth converting that junction box into an XTE-2005 socket and if so, is it just a case of taking the wires from the junction box into that?

      Thanks again
      If you can get through to tier 3 ask them to try you on ADSL2+. I was shoved on gdmt and noted slow speeds. they put me on the adsl2+ and my speeds shot up. However looking at your stats you may need to do some work on your attn and snr. Sort the master sockets and stuff first before you call them. Once you have done that take some more readings and post them here. The guys and gals on the forum are really helpful.


      Regards
      Scoop

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION