Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Newbie Advice Needed Please

    This is a discussion on Newbie Advice Needed Please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I set up Sky broadband yesterday, connecting via ethernet port, and I was very surprised to get speeds of around ...

    1. #1
      Big Kev's Avatar
      Big Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Newbie Advice Needed Please

      I set up Sky broadband yesterday, connecting via ethernet port, and I was very surprised to get speeds of around 1400k download, which pleased me immensely.

      However, this morning, I was getting speeds of no more than 250k with Newzbin Pro and no more than 350k on various speed testers.

      Here are the details from the Router Status page, which states a Downstream of 15k.

      Router Status

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.02.28


      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:7C:67:24
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 15323 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY18836
      Region Europe
      Channel 1
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled
      Last edited by Big Kev; 03-11-07 at 09:27 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      First of all you have posted your IP address above - it would be a good idea to edit the post and remove it to avoid unwanted attention!

      Then you need really to post your detailed router stats so someone can advise you on what might be wrong. See the Router Stats forum for instructions on using Mognuts utility to do this.

    4. #3
      Big Kev's Avatar
      Big Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Newbie Advice Needed Please

      I set up my Sky connection yesterday and was immediately getting speeds of around 14000k, but when I started my computer this morning, they're down to between 2000k and 3000k, I'm rather confused by this.

      I also restarted my computer this evening and upon reboot I was getting near the 14000k mark again, but this has since deteriorated to the 3000k mark.

      Here are my stats and thanks for any help:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 20.3
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15648 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 343425 343423
      SFErr: 86576 1
      RS: 44645306 2919095
      RSCorr: 523809 0
      RSUnCorr: 283483 0

      HEC: 86184 0
      OCD: 1082 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 200183107 9863685
      Data Cells: 434660 98920
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1717 1
      SES: 1457 0
      UAS: 14 20
      Total time = 1 hours 32 min 59 sec
      SF = 343425
      CRC = 86576
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1717
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 32 min 59 sec
      SF = 343425
      CRC = 86576
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1717
      Latest 15 minutes
      time = 2 min 59 sec
      SF = 11056
      CRC = 7604
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 138
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 47034
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 804
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 28186
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 523
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 754
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 67
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 342
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      you will need to find your test socket (behind face plate of master socket) and plug router in there, then have run for a few hours and post new stats

      (errors look like they may be causing a problem, this is most prob down to a noisy line from your internal wiring, test socket will confirm one way or the other)

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      Admin note: 2 threads merged.

      @Big Kev - please just start one thread per topic.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      Your errors are very high, with CRCs up to over 90% at times. This means that information has to be sent several times, slowing your speed a great deal. As has been suggested, plug into your Test socket, behind the Master faceplate and run for a few hours, then post the results. Power off your router for a minute to get rid of the errors you are now showing. If you are lucky, from the Test socket, the errors will disappear, if you are not, the errors are on your outside line, which only BT can fix. With your sync you should be getting a download speed of something like 13000Kbps. Don't think about calling Sky at this stage, as they will simply cap your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Big Kev's Avatar
      Big Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      I'll do the faceplate thing a bit later, but here are a couple of speedtest results.

      Now



      After router reboot



      Rather disappointing, I hope the faceplate trick works.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      Your second test is very good at over 13000 Kbps, I think you would be very happy if this were consistent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Big Kev's Avatar
      Big Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your second test is very good at over 13000 Kbps, I think you would be very happy if this were consistent.
      I'd be very happy with a consistent 13000k, better than speeds I was getting with my 20mb Virgin connection most of the time.

    11. #10
      Big Kev's Avatar
      Big Kev is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newbie Advice Needed Please

      After a while, I managed to start using the test socket with the router connected with a filter and phone line not connected and here are the results. Are there still too many errors and if so, what's my course of action now? I have an extension in the bedroom, which I'm not using at the moment, but I've still put a filter on it, could this have a bearing?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 20.2
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 15688 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4949224 4949222
      SFErr: 410321 1
      RS: 643399152 42068387
      RSCorr: 8225863 3
      RSUnCorr: 1130083 0

      HEC: 401608 0
      OCD: 3290 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2892764620 144367251
      Data Cells: 88627847 3548802
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 14954 1
      SES: 7933 0
      UAS: 14 62
      Total time = 22 hours 15 min 31 sec
      SF = 4949224
      CRC = 410321
      LOS = 60
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14954
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 15 min 31 sec
      SF = 4949224
      CRC = 410321
      LOS = 60
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14954
      Latest 15 minutes time = 31 sec
      SF = 1915
      CRC = 199
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 13097
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 487
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 25893
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 606
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 8153
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 342
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 6918
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 323
      Last edited by Big Kev; 14-11-07 at 09:27 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION